$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 79.96

5,371 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.8% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Le Havre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Little "F"'s on tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Professor X
msg tools
Does anyone know what the small letter "F" is for in the bottom right corners of all the tiles?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Walker
United Kingdom
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
mb
I've always thought it stood for Franc...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it stands for Francs. When you ship goods as an action, every tile has a money value represented by the number of Francs depicted in the bottom right corner of the tile.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
To expand on what Robert wrote, it's a reference to the value (in Francs) shown on the Shipping Line card*, which is the amount of money you get for shipping the chit with the Shipping Line action.

Additionally, there are some special buildings that reference the value of goods for other purposes, and that is the number used in those calculations.

*the original printing of the game has a misprint on the Shipping Line card that incorrectly shows the value of coke as being the same as the value of coal, but the numbers printed on the chits themselves has always been correct.
2 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Professor X
msg tools
Thanks! We are playing our first game. It's round 6 and none of us have built ships yet . . .I'm thinking our eyes were too big looking at the large offerings and now we are all worried about meeting the 5 food requirement lol.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Manore
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Warlord beats Troll, Troll beats Elf, Elf beats Water Sprite, and basically everything else beats Enchanted Bunny.
mbmbmbmbmb
Xantechdp wrote:
Thanks! We are playing our first game. It's round 6 and none of us have built ships yet . . .I'm thinking our eyes were too big looking at the large offerings and now we are all worried about meeting the 5 food requirement lol.


Yes, ships grant a huge relief when it comes to feeding. With food provided by ships, it allows you to do other things for points rather than chasing down the food train.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gillum the Stoor
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems like this question comes up every now and then. Here are a few other discussions (most recent first):

What does F. value mean on resource tiles?
'x' F. on an resource token
Resource chits - simple question
Dumb Question - What the F...?
I feel silly, but what are the "F"s?
9 
 Thumb up
1.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.