$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.51

7,514 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Herp Derp
United States
Alpharetta
GA
flag msg tools
What is the timing of cards that state "At the beginning of the Hero Turn"?

For example:

Regeneration Upgrade Card: Heal 1 Wound at the start of your turn.

Damned if You Do... Pride Sin Card: Start of the Hero Turn: Hero Chooses: Take 2 Wounds or YOU turn one of his Upgrades face-down until the end of round.

Which would happen first?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Licata
United States
Bel Air
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My gut says the sin player would go first but I am curious to see what the answer is.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Or simultaneous resolution might even be the answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Keene
msg tools
designer
icarusmustburn wrote:
Or simultaneous resolution might even be the answer.

How would that work if two wounds killed you but you then healed a wound?

I would be interested in an official answer as well.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lordnine wrote:
icarusmustburn wrote:
Or simultaneous resolution might even be the answer.

How would that work if two wounds killed you but you then healed a wound?

I would be interested in an official answer as well.


Net 1 wound. You wouldn't die with simultaneous resolution. Similar to how combat rolls work, so it is consistent with the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oden Dee
Australia
flag msg tools
mb
Sin first.

Often Sin is waiting for a Hero to do something indicating their turn has started then the Sin interrupts and precedes them.

This is how out-of-turn interruption mechanics work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Thompson
United States
Byron Center
MI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hero would get first action. Sin player reacts to heroes gamestate. In this case it's the start of turn effects.. I would believe that sins player does not get priority resolving effects. There can't be a reaction unless the hero does something first. In this case, heal 1 wound.

The simultaneous rule seems like an option as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J M
United States
Scottdale
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That's not true. A Sin player can play a "At the start of combat" card at the start of a combat they themselves started, with no reaction to the player. Sin cards do not expend reaction tokens, they're not reactions as such.

I would have the Sins card played first, as it's triggered by the game sequence (start of player's turn).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Potter
United States
Annandale
Virginia
flag msg tools
They're both start of hero turn. I think simultaneously is the answer and I also think you probably shouldn't use the card against a hero with that upgrade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oden Dee
Australia
flag msg tools
mb
The Sin is there to disrupt, break strategies, surprise, scare, horrify, and bring the Heroes to tears (maybe not that one). Especially the Sin cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Stiehl
Germany
Biebertal
Hessen
flag msg tools
I would argue the sins player chooses the time when he plays the card which means it has to be at the start of the hero turn before the hero regenerates or immediatly after that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam K
United States
Tulsa
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The Hero goes first, check out the following:
Multiple Rules Clarifications (Mostly with Timing)

I believe the intent here is that the Sins player is so overpowered anyway that the Heroes get the benefit of the doubt in timing issues.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.