$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 58.86

4,246 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
26.8% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

4 the Birds» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I Land Here? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Evans
United States
Pottstown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Say there's a hawk on the board and say I roll the numbers for one of the 4 spaces directly around the hawk.

1. Can I land there for the specific purpose of then displacing my bird to an adjacent space?

2. Can I land there and then displace myself to another space surrounding the same hawk for the purpose of shooting myself off in another direction?

Example: B=bird H=hawk O=open space

0 0
.H This is before I place my bird
0 0

0 0
.H I place my bird on space 72 because I rolled 72
0 B

0 B
.H^ I move my bird up to 82 because the hawk is displacing me
0 0

0 0>B
.H From 82, I move to 83 because the hawk still displaces me on 82
0 0
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Corrigan
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
yes chain reaction is sometime apart of my play but more it is theoretical and not often often useful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Evans
United States
Pottstown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Krsnaji wrote:
yes chain reaction is sometime apart of my play but more it is theoretical and not often often useful.


Actually I just discovered the version 2 rule book which did not come with my game and it says I can't use the hawk in this way. I'd have to immediately vacate to a non-hawk space as soon as landing on the hawk-influenced space.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Vaughan
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct Chris - and thanks for finding the v2 rulebook (sorry it wasn't in your game to start! - we are happy to send a physical copy of the new rules, btw, send a msg if interested)

In your scenarios:

#1 - you can land and displace.
#2 - you can't further move into threatened Hawk spaces to slingshot around.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.