Subject: Placing the first house - the unbalance in the map areas rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Davi Rosa
Brazil
Brasília
DF
flag msg tools
From the Dungeons and Dragons 80's cartoon. If only it was remade...
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to power Grid, having played it twice so far (all 3 player games). My group enjoys multiplayer-solitaire kind of games, so, intuitively, when we played this game, we set our starting houses as far away from each other as possible. Needless to say, the people in the cheaper areas fared better than the others. The result was the players feeling the board was unbalanced and that whoever takes the cheap spot will win. Now, I know this game has many subtleties and that there is a learning curve and all, but my question is: how is it more frequent for experienced player when placing their first houses? Do you all get together in the cheap area so that no ones benefits from it? Do you keep close enough so that you threaten areas close in hopes that you will foil each others plans? Or do you do something else (which I can't think of)?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
mbmbmbmbmb
It's less of an issue than you might expect and the first player can often find him- or herself surrounded.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Billy McBoatface
United States
Lexington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
KGS is the #1 web site for playing go over the internet. Visit now!
badge
Yes, I really am that awesome.
mbmbmbmbmb