$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 123.87

7,402 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
46.6% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Saving free AP clarification? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rodney Hall
Canada
Brantford
Ontario
flag msg tools
I'm having trouble understanding the saving of AP. First few games I played, I didn't know about this. Made the game really difficult. I understand that the idea is that you can't roll over the AP from turn to turn. however, with the max a player can save being 4 (except the rescue dog) this seems to be almost a redundant clarification.

I'm going to use the Rescue Specialist as an example.

4AP + 3 movement AP.
Chop: 1 AP.

1) If the Rescue specialist, chops two holes in a wall, and moves twice then decides to save the rest of their AP.

Would they have 2 AP left (from their regular action points) or do they have to use their regular AP first and therefore would have no AP left to save?
The order should matter. That being said with the below example...

2) If the Rescue Specialist moved 5 spaces, using the 3 free movement spaces and 2 of their regular AP they could then save 2 regular AP again? What if they use their last 2 AP to Chop, which I don't think anybody would have an issue with. In this case, the free AP would be used first, then the rest of the regular.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Beighel
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The rules don't specifically say how you are to spend the AP. My interpretation was that you used the specialty AP when performing that action until it ran out, then future uses of that action would draw from the general AP pool.

So in example 1 your Specialist would have 2 AP left that could be saved, and 1 movement AP unused which would be lost.

In example 2 after 5 moves the Specialist would have 2 AP left to do whatever with, save it or chop things up.


If it doesn't work that way then the characters feel imbalanced. The CAFS firefighter only has 3 regular AP so unless he gets to use his specialty AP first, he gets less actions than the others.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no restriction on the order in which you spend AP.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You use the specialty APs first because you can't save them. Only sensible move, no?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil DeKoning
United States
Bozeman
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jedimusic wrote:
You use the specialty APs first because you can't save them. Only sensible move, no?
For the most part, yes, but you aren't required to. (There's no rule saying you have the play the game sensibly.) A character can spend their AP's in any order they want.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.