Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Professor of Pain
United States
St. Joseph
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a professor at a liberal arts college and received an email today asking for my input. As part of our Libraries' student outreach, some library staff are exploring the option of making board games available for check out and possibly hosting a gaming event at the library. I think this is awesome and I have some ideas but I thought I would put this out to the wider BGG community for ideas and advice.

So, what games are must haves, what are possible constraints, and what other considerations should be addressed?

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Kiley
United States
Ann Arbor
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd start with this as a reference point:

A Brief History of Hobby Boardgaming (WIP)

The above lists a lot of important games over the history of board gaming. If I was putting together a game library for an academic purpose (with a little fun thrown into the fire too!), I'd be selecting games that met some or all of the following criteria:

- Games that played a critical role in design evolution (more on this later) by introducing novel mechanics, methods, techniques and would be beneficial to study from a design standpoint.
- Games that predate the 1900's (classic abstracts) and hence of a long historic legacy to them.
- Classic mainstream games from the early to mid 1950's (e.g. scotland yard, clue, monopoly) - many of these remain mass market games.
- Games that provide some historical insight relative to their given theme. E.G, games that might teach us something about a historic time period or teach technical concepts (economics, engineering, etc.)
- Games from notable designers at the peak of their craft
- Games that are exceptionally popular and well-known (and often referenced as a result)
- I'd pretty much avoid everything in the past five years on principal.

Here we go with some suggestions: