$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 63.3

4,493 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.3% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Zombicide: Black Plague» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wounds and armor rolls rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Emiliano Abel Pedrero Gallegos
Mexico
flag msg tools
Quick question i could not find on the rulebook.

When you are going to take a zombie's wound and you have armor equipped, you roll a die for each hit.

But what happens if you are facing a big group of 7 or more zombies (because there are only 6 dice)?

Let's say they are 10 zombies in a group. Do you roll the first six dice and then another four?

Thanks in advantage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For the sake of discussion, let's assume you do have 20 dice, enough for pretty much any attack.

Technically speaking, you should roll 1 die 7 times, not 7 dice all at once. Rolling 7 dice together implies that a single Zombie is attacking you for 7 damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emiliano Abel Pedrero Gallegos
Mexico
flag msg tools
But how come on the rulebook says

"Armor: Survivors wearing an armor equipment card on the body slot can execute armor rolls to avoid wounds. ROLL AS MANY DICE AS THE NUMBER OF WOUNDS THE SURVIVOR IS ABOUT TO RECEIVE. Each die result that equals or exceeds the armor number of the armor card negates a wound. A lucky survivor could even choose to endure all wounds for his team and get out without a scratch!"

Why it does not say something about 'roll a die separately or individually for each hit, one at the time'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conan Meriadoc
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The attacks are resolved simultaneously, so you actually throw those 7 dice all at once. This is important if you have armor reroll abilities, sice you can't reroll a single die (the reroll has to be all 7 dice, or nothing at all)

For your answer, yes, you'd roll the 6 dice you have, count all the hits, then throw 4 more dice and add all the hits together. Or you could buy more sets of dice =)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Verker9977 wrote:
But how come on the rulebook says

"Armor: Survivors wearing an armor equipment card on the body slot can execute armor rolls to avoid wounds. ROLL AS MANY DICE AS THE NUMBER OF WOUNDS THE SURVIVOR IS ABOUT TO RECEIVE. Each die result that equals or exceeds the armor number of the armor card negates a wound. A lucky survivor could even choose to endure all wounds for his team and get out without a scratch!"

Why it does not say something about 'roll a die separately or individually for each hit, one at the time'?


Touché... not sure what I was thinking about then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
what about an abominatour attack, which deals 2 damage? the way I have played it, you only roll one die, since it is only one single attack that deals 2 damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Hayward
United States
Clio
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LX1986 wrote:
what about an abominatour attack, which deals 2 damage? the way I have played it, you only roll one die, since it is only one single attack that deals 2 damage.


Based on the rulebook quote above, you roll a die per wound, not per attack. So this means your rolls for the abominotaur should include two dice, one for each wound.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Carter
United States
Pacific
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
LX1986 wrote:
what about an abominatour attack, which deals 2 damage? the way I have played it, you only roll one die, since it is only one single attack that deals 2 damage.

Going strictly by the rules, you would roll 2 dice and each success would eliminate 1 wound. Statistically, you would end up with the same average number of wounds either way, though. Just your way would be all or nothing, while the other way would result in getting 1 wound most of the time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M H
msg tools
Everyone is making this more complicated than it needs to be. If you are taking hits from zombies, then add them all up. Then divide the hits from each zombie among your survivors as you see fit. If you get hit by an Abominotaur, 3 wolves, and 5 zombies, then you could assign the abom to hit 1 person, the wolves to hit another, and the zombies to hit another. This is important because of Ironclad. Then you roll a total number of dice equal to the wounds you are taking for armor saves (unless Abominations and no Dwarven Shield). If you have rerolls, then you can decide if you want to keep the current saves or try to roll for an all new set of saves and you keep the second set not matter what.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emiliano Abel Pedrero Gallegos
Mexico
flag msg tools


Rulebook says: Wounds inflicted by Abominations, as well as being eliminated by a dragon fire, can't be prevented by armor rolls.

And as far as i know, the abomination only does 1 damage :l
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Drury
Canada
Longueuil
Quebec
flag msg tools
The only stupid question... is the one you don't ask!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Verker9977 wrote:


Rulebook says: Wounds inflicted by Abominations, as well as being eliminated by a dragon fire, can't be prevented by armor rolls.

And as far as i know, the abomination only does 1 damage :l


Abominations in general do only do 1 damage, but the Abominotaur inficts 2 damage. You are correct though that Abom attacks cannot be blocked by armour.

Abominotaur Actions: 1 Health: 3 XP Gained: 5
Ignores Armor; Causes 2 damage; breaks doors & walls
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Carter
United States
Pacific
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Verker9977 wrote:


Rulebook says: Wounds inflicted by Abominations, as well as being eliminated by a dragon fire, can't be prevented by armor rolls.

And as far as i know, the abomination only does 1 damage :l

The abominotaur is in the Zombie Bosses box and has different rules. I haven't read the rules for it yet, so I'm just assuming the original question stated it correctly that it attacks for 2 wounds.

Edit: Ignore mine, see post above mine ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We keep going through the same circular set of arguments on this one. I'll try to summarise everything here, just to make sure we are all up to speed, as almost all the posts above are only mentioning part of the problem, which is what causes us to go around in circles.

When rolling for Armor, you roll all dice for the attack at once. All Zombies that can attack attack at the same time, so you add up the Wounds you would take and roll that many dice. If you need to roll more dice than you have, you roll the dice multiple times adding up and remembering the prior results.

When rerolling due to also having a Shield (or otherwise), you reroll all the dice and take the new result. Again, if you don't have enough dice, roll them multiple times and add up the results.

Abominations ignore Armor, so you generally don't include them when rolling for Armor saves.

The Dwarven Shield Vault Artifact card has a special ability that it can be used for Abomination attacks. If it is equipped, you do include Abomination attacks in your Armor saves.

One of the special abilities of the Abominotaur is that it does 2 damage when it attacks. If the Survivor has the Dwarven Shield, they roll 2 dice when blocking this attack, one for each wound taken.

If there are multiple Survivors in a Zone that is being attacked, you first assign all Wounds as you see fit. This would also mean that an attack from an Abominotaur could be split between two Survivors, one wound each.

When rolling Armor saves while an Abominotaur is attacking a Survivor with the Dwarven Shield, you roll 1 die for each wound from the Abominotaur assigned to the Survivor with the Dwarven Shield. So if you assign both wounds, you roll 2 dice (and any more dice for other Zombies attacking at the same time).

When rolling Armor to block Survivor misses during a Ranged or Magic Action, you do not roll based on the number of wounds you would take, you instead roll a number of dice equal to the number of misses in the attack. Each miss that you don't block deals the damage value of the weapon.

Examples:
• Q: A Survivor with Armor is in a Zone with 2 Walkers and 1 Runner. There is also a Deadeye Walker that can see the Survivor at Range 1. The Zombies activate, what happens?

A: The Survivor would take 4 wounds in the first action, and thus rolls 4 dice to prevent these wounds. If the Survivor prevents enough wounds so that they survive, the Runner then takes their second action and would deal 1 wound, so another Armor roll is made with a single die. If the Survivor didn't survive the first attack, the Runner would move as its second action.

• Q: A Survivor with Armor and a Shield is attacked by 4 Walkers. The Armor roll of 4 dice saves 2 wounds, meaning 2 wounds would be taken. How is the Shield roll handled?

A: The Survivor either takes the 2 wounds without rerolling, or they reroll all 4 dice and use the new result. The new result may be worse than the old one, but they must take the new result.

• Q: Two Survivors, one with Armor, are in a Zone attacked by 3 Walkers, 2 Fatties and 1 Necromancer. The Zombies activate, what happens?

A: 6 Wounds are being generated. These are assigned as you see fit between the Survivors before any Armor rolls happen. The one with Armor could try to block all 6 wounds, in which case they roll 6 dice. You could assign 2 wounds to the one without Armor and the other 4 to the one with Armor, rolling 4 dice for the Armor save. The one without Armor could even take one for the team and all wounds could be assigned to them, killing them, but leaving the one with Armor safe for a future round.

• Q: Two Survivors with Armor, but no Dwarven Shield, are being attacked by 2 Walkers, 3 Fatties and 1 Abomination. How do you resolve the attack?

A: Assign all the wounds as you see fit between the Survivors. The Survivor assigned the Abomination hit will roll one fewer dice than their assigned wounds, while the other Survivor will roll one for each wound assigned to them. In total, 5 dice will be rolled, in two different batches (rerolls would only apply to each batch).

• Q: A Survivor with Armor and the Dwarven Shield is attacked by 2 Walkers and 1 Abominotaur. How is the attack handled?

A: 4 Wounds would be suffered, 2 for the Abominotaur. The Survivor rolls 4 dice for the Armor roll. If they do not like the result, they can reroll all 4 dice again (the Dwarven Shield reroll), but must take that new result.

• Q: A Survivor is in a Zone with a Fatty. A Survivor casts Inferno (4 dice, hit on 4+, 2 damage per hit) at this Zone. The roll for Inferno is 1,3,5,6. What happens?

A: The attack had 2 hits and 2 misses. One of the hits will kill the Fatty. The second hit is ignored. The two misses hit the Survivor in the Zone. The Survivor rolls 2 dice for their Armor. If both succeed, they take no damage. If only one succeeds, they take two damage for the unblocked miss. If both armor dice fail, the Survivor takes 4 damage and almost certainly dies.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander
Germany
Duisburg
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Clipper wrote:
We keep going through the same circular set of arguments on this one.


well, there are always new people coming to this game and not everyone is going through all the forum discussions

thanks for the comprehensive answer, though "one die per wound" did suffice for me I simply mixed up "per wound" with "per attack".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.