Support:

Barry Miller
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Hi all,

I’d like to talk about the [lack of] emphasis that the Rulebook places on the Shared Activations rule. Perhaps it’s that I’m missing something basic, is why I’m posting this thread. I apologize for my long-windedness. If you want to skip to the meat, go to about 2/3 down my post.

Background

First, a bit about my POV if it matters. If not, simply skip this paragraph! I’m brand new to CoH. Also, I'm not a grognard though I do like wargames and own my fair share. My interest is mostly in games that play at the strategic or operational levels as I’ve never been drawn to the decision space which resides at the tactical level. Having said that, it was the COH Solo Expansion that brought me around to purchasing COH:AtB (and finally being able to get my hands on a copy)! Finally, I don't get a lot of opportunity to play my wargames, so I’m not as adept at identifying tactical situations, or developing efficient strategies, or even seeing through specific rules as others are.

Second, I'm still reading the Rulebook. Thusly without having played the game yet, I’m not asking a rules question. Instead, this post is about the placement of the Shared Activation rule, and not about the rule itself. It was upon reaching page 10 and rule "9.0: Shared Activations", that I felt compelled to whip out the keyboard...

A Question is Born

Pages 1, 2, and 3 of the 2ed Ed Rulebook frequently emphasize how a unit is activated with [the standard] seven Action Points, and how only one unit can be activated at a time. As I read those pages, I immediately got stuck on this “singular” concept – i.e., that only one unit can act at a time. I had trouble contemplating how that could work. Given that I fully grasped the turn structure, I couldn't wrap my brain around the notion that a unit has to exhaust or forfeit all of its APs before another unit could act.