$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.99

7,785 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
49.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explore Action Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Severson
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
In the Rules Reference it says you can also use an Explore action if your are in an adjacent space that the explore token is in. If this is correct then why would you ever explore from the space the explore token is in since if you explore from an adjacent space you are essentially getting a free move action out of the explore action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CenturyMan1979 wrote:
In the Rules Reference it says you can also use an Explore action if your are in an adjacent space that the explore token is in. If this is correct then why would you ever explore from the space the explore token is in since if you explore from an adjacent space you are essentially getting a free move action out of the explore action.


It is "from a space adjacent to the token". The token is not in a space, but is instead on a door. If you read the rules reference it says that doors are considered "adjacent" to the spaces they connect. Doors are not in a space, they are "adjacent" to each of the spaces that are on either side of them. So you cannot explore from two spaces away, you can explore from the space "adjacent" to the door, which is only the space that touches the door.

Cheers!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Explore tokens are never in a space. They are located on a door. Doors are adjacent to the 2 spaces it separates, so the only way to interact with them is to be adjacent to them.

Edit: Beat me to it
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Baker Odom
United States
Bluffton
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For a little more clarification...From the RRG pg 9, "An investigator can perform an explore action of an Explore token only if he occupies the same space as that token or a space adjacent to the door the Explore token is placed on."

Sometimes an explore token WILL be inside a space. So far I've only seen this with secret passages. In that case you must be in the space with the token.

Usually the explore token is on a door which is not an a space at all but instead adjacent to the two spaces it connects. In that case you must be adjacent to the door.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.