$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 73.82

5,056 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
31.9% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Sushi Go Party!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Uramaki rules: same player scores multiple times rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
An issue in interpretation for our game group came up with how to score Uramaki if the same player could score multiple times

Majority of the group views it as a race, in which you can not win 1st AND 2nd place. Even if we gain 20 uramaki you will not get 1st and 2nd place. A runner can't win twice in a race.

The wording also mentions that scoring for 2nd and 3rd place goes to the next player.

The final bit that makes us think that you can't score multiple times is that the Uramaki will be cumulative and impossible to regain 10. 10+ 10 is 20 not your next set of 10.

Does this make sense not to let the same player score multiple times?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shannon T
Australia
Peakhurst
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fyxsius wrote:
An issue in interpretation for our game group came up with how to score Uramaki if the same player could score multiple times

Majority of the group views it as a race, in which you can not win 1st AND 2nd place. Even if we gain 20 uramaki you will not get 1st and 2nd place. A runner can't win twice in a race.

The wording also mentions that scoring for 2nd and 3rd place goes to the next player.

The final bit that makes us think that you can't score multiple times is that the Uramaki will be cumulative and impossible to regain 10. 10+ 10 is 20 not your next set of 10.

Does this make sense not to let the same player score multiple times?


It says right there in the rules on page 9 " It's possible that one player may be awarded multiple placings for uramaki in a single round."

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep. Rules specifically say same person can score more than once. Your first set of 10 or more score 8 points. If you had any in excess of 10 when you scored, those excess do NOT apply to the next set, though. Your next set of 10 must start from scratch.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Alright, so it seems to say in the rule book. Seems silly, but we'll take it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Chesapeake
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fyxsius wrote:
Alright, so it seems to say in the rule book. Seems silly, but we'll take it.


Why silly? You've never been to a sushi restaurant when it's 'all you can eat' and seen someone eat nothing else but rolls? In the case of the game, you generally won't see it happen unless no one else except you is collecting them. And you won't score it twice on two card each time because you are extremely unlikely to see 4 cards with 5 roll pieces in the same deal. So you are looking at usually a minimum of 5 cards to score 13 points. That's not a very good return on points per card. So in THAT regard, yeah, it may be silly to go for it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Silly in the sense of "it's a race to 10". Makes me think it's a race between different players, not the same player racing themself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also the bit of text that helped was to indicate that the player discards their cards, so they can begin collecting 10 more.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shannon T
Australia
Peakhurst
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Fyxsius wrote:
Silly in the sense of "it's a race to 10". Makes me think it's a race between different players, not the same player racing themself.



So think of it as 3 races to 10.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.