$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.53

4,615 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.1% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cave Collapse: Can the cave take a tile from the center? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Todd Carter
United States
Neptune
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

This may be a dumb question. But, the rules say that when the cave is collapsing, the cave has to remove any tiles touching 1 other tile and then the tiles touching 2 other tiles. After that there does not seem to be any direction about which tiles the cave has to take. So, is it implied that the cave has to remove tiles from the outside of the board and work in? Or, can he take tiles from the middle of the board?

It seems like this would make destroying crystals really easy. But I can't find a rule that says the cave can't do this.

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
There will always be either a tile with just one neighbor or a tile with two neighbors--the board always has a corner. You reevaluate which tiles are legal to remove after each removal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Carter
United States
Neptune
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh! So, "touching" refers to adjacent tiles and not diagonal tiles? That does make a lot more sense. Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The only exception would be if someone managed to use a corridor with walls on either side to get the board separated in two bunches (with a one square neck in between). Then the cave could collapsed that one tile (which only touches the two squares on either side), but then you'd push the two sides together and be back at working from corners in. Basically, you can never remove a tile with 3 or 4 neighbors 'til you collapse your way in to it and make it a corner.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ah! I see the confusion now. Yes, diagonals do not count (as in most situations in this game).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.