Bernie Campbell
United States
Salem
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
But it was so...artistically done...
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all,

I'm trying to sell the wife on letting me take a few days next summer to go to a wargaming event. Trouble is, I'm not sure what events are out there. I'm a school teacher, so I'm limited to late June through mid-August. I'm in the Northeast, so somewhere within driving distance is a bonus. Because I'm a school teacher, and flying is expensive. Suggestions?

I'm a hex and counter kind of guy, if that helps.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Thompson
United States
Taylor
Michigan
flag msg tools
Old Ironsides being overflown by the Blue Angels
mbmbmbmbmb
AdmDavis wrote:
Hey all,

I'm trying to sell the wife on letting me take a few days next summer to go to a wargaming event. Trouble is, I'm not sure what events are out there. I'm a school teacher, so I'm limited to late June through mid-August. I'm in the Northeast, so somewhere within driving distance is a bonus. Because I'm a school teacher, and flying is expensive. Suggestions?

Depends on what you mean by driving distance. As for the New England area, that I will have to leave to someone else. As a Midwesterner, I'm not familiar with those regional conventions. But if you're willing to put some miles on the vehicle, there is the World Boardgaming Championships in Seven Springs, PA. It will take place during the last week of July next year and has a very good wargaming presence (it started off as AvalonCon years ago). Keep in mind that this con is about a 10 hour drive for you, but given the quality and amount of gaming done here it may well be worth the trip.

Here's the link to the webpage for this years version:
http://www.boardgamers.org/wbcindex.html
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Osprey
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Errg...Argh..
mbmbmbmbmb
WBC
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brant G
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer