$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 127.77

7,567 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Operational Combat Series» Forums » General

Subject: Interception 14.5 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Damian DiLuzio
United States
Andover
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to OCS and I'm moving along well, but still having some issues and questions on some rules.

Interception 14.5: I'm having some real trouble with this rule.

The example I'll give is an airdrop mission with 2 C47 and 2 P38 that are going to conduct this drop in an enemy PZ. So one enemy unit and intercept.

1. If the Air Combat results in an abort, does the entire mission abort?
2. If the entire mission does not abort, and other aircraft attempt to intercept the mission?
3. If the first roll does not abort the mission, can other aircraft attempt an intercept?

Enjoying the game, but have been spending to much time with this rule.

Thanks in advance...
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tankboy
United States
Haslet
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You have two P38 escorts, so Air Combat happens 1st with one of them against the Interceptor. You decide now whether to abort the other three. If not, all 4 will do individual Air to Air Combat with the Interceptor, one at a time. Either the Interceptor wins all, or goes home and your remaining planes continue their mission.
6 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm Cameron
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Your P-38 escorts and C-47 transports can only be intercepted by a single Axis fighter:

Quote:
(from 14.5)

The player can intercept with a single Active Fighter (never more than one) with a Patrol Zone into the mission hex.


So the Axis player in this example only gets one shot at intercepting the mission.

Interception is then resolved as Air Combat.

The rule on Air Combat is 14.3.

Quote:
14.3 Air Combat

When both sides have Active planes in a hex, Air Combat is immediately resolved. This will only happen when the mission hex contains an enemy air base with Active aircraft, or during Interception (14.5). An Air Combat consists of a series of rounds during which each player selects one unit to use. The result of the round may be the aborting (see 14.1c) and possibly a loss to one or both of the selected aircraft. These rounds continue until one side or the other is alone in the hex (or no Active plane with a non-parenthesized Air Combat Rating remains).


So the single Axis fighter starts by fighting a round of Air Combat against one of the Allied planes (Allied player choice).

The Allied player will obviously choose one of the P-38s to fight the first round.

If the Axis plane aborts, it heads back to base inactive and the original Allied mission continues.

If the P-38 aborts and the Axis plane does not, another round of Air Combat ensues, between the same Axis fighter and the next Allied plane, very likely the second P-38.

Air Combat continues, single plane vs single plane, until either the Axis plane aborts or all four Allied planes have aborted (which would usually only happen if the Axis won four rounds of Air Combat).

The answers to your questions are:

Quote:
1. If the Air Combat results in an abort, does the entire mission abort?


No.

Quote:
2. If the entire mission does not abort, and other aircraft attempt to intercept the mission?


No.

Quote:
3. If the first roll does not abort the mission, can other aircraft attempt an intercept?


No.

(Edit: beaten to the punch by the much more succinct TankBoy)
7 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damian DiLuzio
United States
Andover
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you guys I appreciate it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.