Subject: foamcore V1 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marc Bennett
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
in one of the videos it was mentioned that each race expansion has enough new stuff to add that race as a player including more planets and space lanes. I then thought to myself, wouldnt it be neat to have a player box that included all of that together.

after getting the game, i worked out what all that extra stuff should be, namely
-10 space lanes of each size
-10 command tokens
-5 ascendancy tokens.
-plastic pieces in your color, home planet, 3 starbases, trade rout, fleet and advancement cards.

so i set about mocking up a foamcore box. now this is my first attempt at one of these, and i know its none too neat because i knew it was just a rough draft. here is what i came up with.

Fully closed, this is what you would hand to a player.

you then slide out the player board which doubles as a lid.

remove cards from top, your pieces, starlanes and tokens are available to pull out as needed.

and a side view to compare.

any thoughts or suggestions welcome. i figure i can probably get 6 of these in the base set with no box lift, or more if i tip them sideways and have them lift the lid a few inches.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DB
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Outstanding!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Byer
United States
Fishers
IN
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Have you figured out how to compensate for the wildly different shapes that the player boards come in if the plan is to use them as a lid.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Godwin
msg tools
mbmb
chbyer wrote:
Have you figured out how to compensate for the wildly different shapes that the player boards come in if the plan is to use them as a lid.

They are varried shapes but all fit in the same area. So all the boards can fit into the space space as the Fed board.