Subject: When to Rate/Review a game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthew Jones
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
I'm curious to see if anyone has any thoughts/guidance on when someone should review/rate a game?

I'm new to BGG and I want to make sure I'm contributing correctly and appropriately. It seems to me that my rating of a game is subject to lots of things.
Scenarios to explain:

-Maybe my initial impression wasn't good because I was confused.
-Maybe I played the game wrong and later get corrected.
-Maybe I think it's amazing until a find a new similar game that's even better and I thus think less of the original game.
-Some games just take a while to digest and several times playing before you can fully appreciate the game.
-Some games fade in awesomeness overtime (I think this is natural isn't it?)
-Maybe I've only played so few times I shouldn't rate at all

I understand that I can go back and change my ratings and edit reviews, but a constant changing of scores seems pretty time consuming.

Anyway, any advice or thoughts on how long they typically wait to review a game, or how many times they play before they review again, or when they choose not to review a game would be a big help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Blackford
United States
Huber Heights
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
For such a subjective thing, there's really no right or wrong way to rate your games. They are YOUR ratings, and they should reflect how you feel about the game. There's nothing wrong with letting your game "mature" for a few plays if you wish; it allows you to get a good feel on how good/average/bad YOU think the game is.