$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 66.14

4,648 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.3% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Runewars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can BLIGHT tokens ever get removed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Day Life
msg tools

So had a game of this last night


And we decided to throw in all the modulus of the expansion (apart from the hero combat and free cities) and had a small problem.

A player got the lost city quest and complected it to revel it and the dragon rune but the turn before that a blight token was placed in that location.

[quote=Rules]While this token is in play, the area is considered to have no
resource icons. If there is a city present, the city no longer provides
any of the printed icons when resolving a “Rally Support” Order
card. <snip> Desolation tokens remain on the map until removed by a card
effect or ability.[/quote]

So he got nothing, no food, no dragon rune nothing for the entire game.. These desolation tokens seam to be extremely strong especially when you consider the bonus card for the Demon Faction that allows you to place them.

Now the rules say that there are card effects to remove them, but where are they.. Tactics? Seasons? Quests?... how do you get rid of them?

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garrett
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 5 of the Banners of War rule book says,

"When a player completes a Quest card
that instructs him to place the lost city, he
places it on map tile 12 so that the blue
water border covers the yellow border. If
map tile 12 has a desolation or cryomancy
token
on it (see page 8) do not place the
lost city; instead remove all desolation and
cryomancy tokens from the area."

That should address the issue in your game. However, I'm not sure what other methods there are for removing Desolation tokens.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
There are two tactics card ("Rebuilding Year" and "Reviving Rain") that can remove Desolation tokens.

Other than that, no - once on the board, there is currently no other way to remove them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Day Life
msg tools
Budgernaut wrote:
"When a player completes a Quest card
that instructs him to place the lost city, he
places it on map tile 12 so that the blue
water border covers the yellow border. If
map tile 12 has a desolation or cryomancy
token
on it (see page 8) do not place the
lost city; instead remove all desolation and
cryomancy tokens from the area."


Dose the quest card get discarded, or shuffled back into the deck or something?

sigmazero13 wrote:
There are two tactics card ("Rebuilding Year" and "Reviving Rain") that can remove Desolation tokens.


Ahh... yeah.. Those tokens are so powerful and the Demons have that ability to spread them as well.. . . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
DayinDaLife wrote:
Budgernaut wrote:
"When a player completes a Quest card
that instructs him to place the lost city, he
places it on map tile 12 so that the blue
water border covers the yellow border. If
map tile 12 has a desolation or cryomancy
token
on it (see page 8) do not place the
lost city; instead remove all desolation and
cryomancy tokens from the area."


Dose the quest card get discarded, or shuffled back into the deck or something?

It gets discarded just like any other completed quest
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Day Life
msg tools
sigmazero13 wrote:
DayinDaLife wrote:
Budgernaut wrote:
"When a player completes a Quest card
that instructs him to place the lost city, he
places it on map tile 12 so that the blue
water border covers the yellow border. If
map tile 12 has a desolation or cryomancy
token
on it (see page 8) do not place the
lost city; instead remove all desolation and
cryomancy tokens from the area."


Dose the quest card get discarded, or shuffled back into the deck or something?

It gets discarded just like any other completed quest


So the discarding of the token is basically useless as the city is forever gone from play, just as if it was in play and the token was on the table as well. (not exactly but you know what I mean)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
mbmbmbmbmb
DayinDaLife wrote:
sigmazero13 wrote:
DayinDaLife wrote:
Budgernaut wrote:
"When a player completes a Quest card
that instructs him to place the lost city, he
places it on map tile 12 so that the blue
water border covers the yellow border. If
map tile 12 has a desolation or cryomancy
token
on it (see page 8) do not place the
lost city; instead remove all desolation and
cryomancy tokens from the area."


Dose the quest card get discarded, or shuffled back into the deck or something?

It gets discarded just like any other completed quest


So the discarding of the token is basically useless as the city is forever gone from play, just as if it was in play and the token was on the table as well. (not exactly but you know what I mean)

Not exactly, because unless I miscounted, there are 4 quests for Tile #12, and all 4 of them have the potential of putting the Lost City in play.

Plus, removing the token at least lets you use the tile's resources, even without the Lost City.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.