Subject: Enlist - one time action, each just once? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
With the enlist bottom action, you pay the cost then move the recruit cyclinder from one mat to another. Doing so unlocks a game-long bonus if you or a player next to you takes that action later on. It also grants a one-time bonus - 2 popularity, a combat card etc.

I understood the rules to mean that you could claim each one-time bonus only once - that the recruit cyclinder is placed on the mat to cover the bonus you've just taken, and the next time you enlist you have to take a different action.

Am I right? I read one thread here where taking the same bonus over and over seemed to be advocated, hence the source of my confusion.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Taylor
Switzerland
Uster
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, I'm not a Scythe expert, but I believe that if another player takes the bonus, and you have previously unlocked it, you also get the bonus.

However, in a 2P game, it's only ever triggered once.

Am I correct there? It's how I read it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
RDewsbery wrote:
I understood the rules to mean that you could claim each one-time bonus only once - that the recruit cyclinder is placed on the mat to cover the bonus you've just taken, and the next time you enlist you have to take a different action.

Correct. (That's why it's called a "one-time" bonus.)

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Björn
Germany
Burbach
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you've answered your own question. Since you have to cover each one-time bonus up after claiming it, you can't claim it again with a different recruit.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
simondtaylor wrote: