$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 131.57

7,726 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Star Wars: X-Wing Miniatures Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tractor Beam Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
B Man
msg tools
I see some of the new pilots and/or cards give a tractor beam token without having a tractor bean. when this happens do you have them boost straight or roll like the normal? one of the pilots give a token at end of activation phase to any ship touching them, do they move as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Silver
United States
Lino Lakes
Minnesota
flag msg tools
C'mon You Loons!
badge
United FC! -----------The Team for Me! ---- Minnesota! ----------- L-O-V-E! -------------
mbmbmbmbmb
You do exactly what the rules tell you to do, no less, no more.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Man
msg tools
So the new best pilot for the shadowcaster is BAD, "at the start of combat phase you may choose a ship at range 1, if it is inside your primary and mobile firing arc assign 1 tractor beam token to it" If you have to boost or roll them they will most likely they will be outta your firing arc...so why tractor beam them?!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The first tractor beam token doesn't force a movement. It's optional.

EDIT: Tractor beam rules, from the FAQ.

A ship with at least one tractor beam token assigned to it follows special rules during these phases:
• Combat Phase: The agility value of that ship is reduced by 1 for each tractor beam token, to a minimum of 0.
• End Phase: Remove all tractor beam tokens from the ship.

The first time a small ship receives a tractor beam token each round, the opposing player may choose one of the following effects:
• Perform a barrel roll using the [1-straight] maneuver template. The opposing player selects the direction of the barrel roll and the final position of the ship.
• Perform a boost using the [1-straight] maneuver template.
This is not an action or a maneuver, and can cause the ship to overlap obstacles (but not other ships). The ship suffers the effect of any obstacle it overlaps.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Man
msg tools
well it says 'the 1st time a small ship receives a tractor beam token each round, the opposing player chooses one of the following effects' NO where in it does it say the word MAY, therefore it is NOT optional.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BMan1000 wrote:
well it says 'the 1st time a small ship receives a tractor beam token each round, the opposing player chooses one of the following effects' NO where in it does it say the word MAY, therefore it is NOT optional.

Er, per the post above (which references the FAQ), it does say "may":

Quote:
The first time a small ship receives a tractor beam token each round, the opposing player may choose one of the following effects:
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Man
msg tools
Well on the card that comes with the game it is not there, and I like to use the rules supplied by the maker of the game to play. I'm funny like that. are u finding this FAQ on the Fantasy flight site or some other site?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Alexander
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's official errata to the rules. The FAQ is from FFG and is available in the Support section of their product webpage.

https://www.fantasyflightgames.com/en/products/x-wing/

Several other rules and cards have received similar errata.

(The current rulebook is also available on that site. I say this because there were many small changes between the original rules and the rulebook in the Force Awakens core set, and I don't know which one you own.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Man
msg tools
Thanks for the info. I just hate that they make rules, print cards, ships cards, then change rule...wtf u think they would play test or check over everything BEFORE they print things. and I own both sets
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BMan1000 wrote:
wtf u think they would play test or check over everything BEFORE they print things.

They do, but in something as complex and wordy as a board game, it's very easy for things to slip through the cracks. Especially when you are trying to ensure that all your new content works well everything that has been released- there are so many permutations for how people play, that it's impossible to catch every mistake in the first go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
BMan1000 wrote:
So the new best pilot for the shadowcaster is BAD, "at the start of combat phase you may choose a ship at range 1, if it is inside your primary and mobile firing arc assign 1 tractor beam token to it" If you have to boost or roll them they will most likely they will be outta your firing arc...so why tractor beam them?!


If you set it up right, your primary and mobile firing arcs would cover a LOT of real estate. Boosting or rolling them might not take them out of those arcs. So you'd want to move them closer to you for a possible Range 1 shot. Or, if they're out of range but still in arc, you can move them closer to one of your ships that DOES have range on them. And in either case, they lose 1 agility for the rest of the round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B Man
msg tools
The target ship has to be at range 1 already, and in BOTH the primary and mobile to assign them a tractor beam token. But now FF changed the rules so you 'may' roll or boost them, which will make a the ship better.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
DailyRich wrote:
BMan1000 wrote:
So the new best pilot for the shadowcaster is BAD, "at the start of combat phase you may choose a ship at range 1, if it is inside your primary and mobile firing arc assign 1 tractor beam token to it" If you have to boost or roll them they will most likely they will be outta your firing arc...so why tractor beam them?!


If you set it up right, your primary and mobile firing arcs would cover a LOT of real estate. Boosting or rolling them might not take them out of those arcs. So you'd want to move them closer to you for a possible Range 1 shot. Or, if they're out of range but still in arc, you can move them closer to one of your ships that DOES have range on them. And in either case, they lose 1 agility for the rest of the round.


ALso worth noting that 'in arc' includes 'bumped into you and in arc' at which point you might be able to tractor them OFF you so you can shoot at them...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.