$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 97.74

6,236 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
39.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Old School Tactical» Forums » Rules

Subject: assault, assault group move and melee reinforcements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pete Gerardy
Canada
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have few questions after watching Shayne's vid here
https://youtu.be/_1sZFOiyzg0?t=43m55s

He makes a group move to assault a tank with 2 units and leader. The two units are adjacent but are not in the same hex.

19.4 The units must start and remain in the same hex for
the move.


seems to indicate both units and leader would need to start stacked together. Is the move in the vid legal?

28.7 A vehicle may join a Group Assault move so long
as it is adjacent to or in the same hex as the other
assaulting unit with an attached Leader.


seems to apply only when using vehicles and infantry together.

While on the subject of group assaults with vehicles. What if a infantry with leader is a passenger on a vehicle. Can they group assault or does the infantry/leader need to move off first, then group assault?

30.23 With an unresolved Melee, units can reinforce the
Melee by Assault moving into the hex. Stacking
limits must still be followed. The new units will be
taken into account for the next Melee combat.


Is the procedure as follows? :
- Russian assault Germans
- melee is unresolved as both sides still have good order units
- turn ends
- Russian assault moves in melee to reinforce following stacking limits.
- melee is resolved again at the end of the turn

I've been playing that during the current turn melee is open to be reinforced up to the stacking limits, but I'm thinking this is wrong.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm curious to hear the answers here.
I got into a weird situation when testing the game on Vassal the other day. A Russian tank transporting a shaken Shock Unit had an opportunity to assault a German Rifle Squad. I decided to allow it, but I'm not sure it was the right call. It cost me 3 impulse point's to Assault, Dismount and Rally. Instead of 4 (Dismount, Rally, Group Assault). The Russians proceeded to eliminate the German Unit.
I do like the idea of using vehicles in this manner though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pete_g wrote:
I have few questions after watching Shayne's vid here
https://youtu.be/_1sZFOiyzg0?t=43m55s

He makes a group move to assault a tank with 2 units and leader. The two units are adjacent but are not in the same hex.

19.4 The units must start and remain in the same hex for
the move.


seems to indicate both units and leader would need to start stacked together. Is the move in the vid legal?


The 2 foot units and attached Leader must start in the same hex for the group move/assault move. In the video I may not have followed this and it would be invalid. At one time Group moves were allowed with adjacent units, but the mechanic was too cumbersome and so it was only allowed for units in the same hex. I may have made the video before that refinement.


28.7 A vehicle may join a Group Assault move so long
as it is adjacent to or in the same hex as the other
assaulting unit with an attached Leader.


seems to apply only when using vehicles and infantry together.

Yes

While on the subject of group assaults with vehicles. What if a infantry with leader is a passenger on a vehicle. Can they group assault or does the infantry/leader need to move off first, then group assault?

Yes, you would have to unload first.
28/8 vehicles transporting units may not Assault move.

30.23 With an unresolved Melee, units can reinforce the
Melee by Assault moving into the hex. Stacking
limits must still be followed. The new units will be
taken into account for the next Melee combat.


Is the procedure as follows? :
- Russian assault Germans
- melee is unresolved as both sides still have good order units
- turn ends
- Russian assault moves in melee to reinforce following stacking limits.
- melee is resolved again at the end of the turn

I've been playing that during the current turn melee is open to be reinforced up to the stacking limits, but I'm thinking this is wrong.

Only unresolved Melees can be reinforced.
The first example you mention is correct. When Melee carries into new turn, the Melee hex can be assault moved into by additional units, following stacking limits.

When Melees are initiated, that hex is blocked off until the Melee phase at end of turn. So initially, for example, when a German unit assault moves into a hex and enters Melee with a Russian unit, the Russian player cannot move another unit over and reinforce the initial Melee.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
And you will always need a Leader for a Group Assault move
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Gerardy
Canada
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jamm22 wrote:
And you will always need a Leader for a Group Assault move


Does this apply when using just infantry? And does this apply to group move (not assault). Can't find the rule if that is the case.

Great game BTW. Stalingrad on the way and backed volume 2. Looks like the last stretch goal has been reached.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Xavier Harduin
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pete_g wrote:
Jamm22 wrote:
And you will always need a Leader for a Group Assault move


Does this apply when using just infantry? And does this apply to group move (not assault). Can't find the rule if that is the case.


19/ Group move
1. Up to 2 units and an attached leader may move as a group.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Logan
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pete_g wrote:
Jamm22 wrote:
And you will always need a Leader for a Group Assault move


Does this apply when using just infantry? And does this apply to group move (not assault). Can't find the rule if that is the case.

Great game BTW. Stalingrad on the way and backed volume 2. Looks like the last stretch goal has been reached.



Yes, you need a leader for all Group actions.

Thanks for your support and glad you're enjoying the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Gerardy
Canada
Manitoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
xavutrecht wrote:
pete_g wrote:
Jamm22 wrote:
And you will always need a Leader for a Group Assault move


Does this apply when using just infantry? And does this apply to group move (not assault). Can't find the rule if that is the case.


19/ Group move
1. Up to 2 units and an attached leader may move as a group.


Getting technical, but the "up to" gives the impression the leader might not be needed. Could be changed to group move requires 2 units AND a leader. The same way it is structured in the group assault with vehicle.

All good. Was playing that one wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.