Subject: Kubo and the two strings. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
First to get the RSP out of the way, it is movie with a strong nod to Buddhism. The movie is set in Japan in a traditionally-Buddhist village. The action gets going after Kubo, attends a Buddhist Obon Festival.

They do it beautifully and build a fantastic adventure story on top of some of the most beautiful movie making in terms of animation I have ever seen. This one is worth seeing on the big screen to get the real impact of the stop motion techniques, really it is!

I really enjoyed the way they explored themes of the value of life and importance of family.

George Takei get to say "Oh My" at one point... a plus for us geeky types.

The director, Travis Knight, says his mother-in-law and her family are Buddhist. About the Buddhism in the film, Knight said,

Quote:

“That kind of spirituality is not something you typically see in film. I think it spoke to the basic idea about losing something that matters to you, which is a fundamental part of life. You don’t get through life unscathed. Being able to explore those ideas through the prism of fantasy and animation really allows parents and children to experience those things together, in a way they can understand. Sometimes these ideas are difficult to articulate, but in a film, if done in a poetic way, those things can make sense and you can talk about them.”

http://www.lionsroar.com/new-film-kubo-and-the-two-strings-i...