$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 76.56

5,198 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
32.8% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

miloboy gogogo
Thailand
Bangkok
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
assume shield exceed damage

can we apply

Surge : recover one fatigue
Surge : teleport 2 square
Surge : move monster 1 space

?

I know that we can't apply condition if it deal no damage
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fox Reinard
msg tools
Conditions are the only standard effect that require damage to be applied. All other Surge effects don't need you to deal damage in order to work (other than those that specify needing damage)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Doom is a little strange here. The condition is applied when damage is dealt as with other conditions. But IF damage is dealt, the doom effect already triggers on the attack that applied Doom increasing the damage suffered by 1.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Smithe
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It makes more sense if you consider that "dealing damage" and "suffering damage" are distinct triggers. This is evidenced by the fact that even if Jain converts all of her damage from an attack into fatigue, she still gets conditions (the attack dealt 1 damage, she was just able to avoid suffering it as damage.)

"Doomed" (like other conditions) is applied when damage is dealt. The defender must now suffer the damage dealt. Since "Doomed" is applied, when the suffering of damage occurs, an additional damage is suffered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joeri Rotthier
Belgium
Hemiksem
Antwerp
flag msg tools
mbmb
foxreinard wrote:
Conditions are the only standard effect that require damage to be applied. All other Surge effects don't need you to deal damage in order to work (other than those that specify needing damage)


In addition:
If the X is rolled this is a miss, no surges can be used.
In case of a ranged attack that does not have enough range, surges can be used to apply +range. If after that the range is still not sufficient, that attack counts as a miss and no further surges can be spent.

In all other cases surges can be spent to recover fatigue or get rid of a condition on yourself.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
TheGibson wrote:
get rid of a condition on yourself.
Did I miss a rule somewhere or do you mean a specific condition?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marius Friedrichs
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Proto Persona wrote:
TheGibson wrote:
get rid of a condition on yourself.
Did I miss a rule somewhere or do you mean a specific condition?

The doomed condition can be discarded with a surge.

Source: http://descent2e.wikia.com/wiki/Doomed
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Smithe
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Doomed is the only condition that can be discarded with a surge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.