$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 66.38

4,661 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.4% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Evolution: The Beginning» Forums » Rules

Subject: Scavenger card question! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Falkowski
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
Hello all,

We had our first play session last night and had a great time. One question arose. When a player has the scavenger trait, how long does the food token stay on the species card? Does is stay on till the end of the player's turn that has the scavenger card when scoring his/her turn or is it scored at the end of the turn when the carnivore is scoring his turn?

We found early on in our 4 player game that scoring the scavenger card based on carnivores attacks by 2-3 players could inflate the tokens scavengers got if they where removed in the scoring of each player, thereby creating a new unfed scavenger each player cycle and allowing it to feed again when a different players carnivore attacked.

It seemed more fair and correct to leave the scavenger card fed till the player that owned the scavenger card did his scoring, this is correct?

Thank you! Love the game

John
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
It seemed more fair and correct to leave the scavenger card fed till the player that owned the scavenger card did his scoring, this is correct?


Yep.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
Look at the explanation of the Scavenger card at the end of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Falkowski
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thank you, I missed that and I was the guy with the rule book in front of me all night coaching everyone else haha. I was up and down the rules, sorry for missing that!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
It's impossible to get the rules right for everyone. You want to sometimes be redundant to make it easier to find things as a reference guide, but you want the rules to be as short and as concise as possible or else people get intimidated and worse, get confused because the rules are too verbose.

There are a few things we'll probably change because we're getting repeated questions about it, but for them most part, we're pretty happy with how well the rules are doing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel D
Israel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
One more scavenger question - when a carnivore attacks a 1-pop scavenger.
That scavenger gains 1 food for its owner before going extinct, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
QuickDaniel wrote:
One more scavenger question - when a carnivore attacks a 1-pop scavenger.
That scavenger gains 1 food for its owner before going extinct, correct?


No. Population is lost. Then food is given.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel D
Israel
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
domcrap wrote:
QuickDaniel wrote:
One more scavenger question - when a carnivore attacks a 1-pop scavenger.
That scavenger gains 1 food for its owner before going extinct, correct?


No. Population is lost. Then food is given.


OK, thanks. For some reason that's the only trait which was confusing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Hyatt

Kimberly
Idaho
msg tools
Do you get a food for each population in a scavenger species?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
hyattbrad wrote:
Do you get a food for each population in a scavenger species?


No. Just one per attack for each species with the Scavenger trait.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Suse Pnc
msg tools
And if Scavenger has Fat Tissue, could that species get two food for every Carnivore attack?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
mbmbmbmbmb
bbqnjl wrote:
And if Scavenger has Fat Tissue, could that species get two food for every Carnivore attack?

No, just 1 food per attack, but it could keep on eating even after it has 1 food per Population.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.