12 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: [Project] Cardgame Women in HIstory rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fernanda Nunes
msg tools
Hi,

I am an undergrad Graphic Designer student in Brazil and I was always interested in games, specially board games. I did a summer internship at the USC (university of southern California) gamelab which made me be more sure about my passion for games.
This way, I decided to do as my final thesis (to conclude my studies) an educational game about Women in History.

I have preference to make a card game with a cooperative game (I don't want to make women fight against each other).

I wonder if you guys have some tips to give me about mechanics and which games I should look to gather inspiration. I want to understand the educational part and also the coop part. Can be board games too (I am just starting the project so I can change if fits better).

Thank you so much for your time and I will definitely post the progress here!

*sorry about the typos*
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Rowse
New Zealand
Wellington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Coops are hard to get right. I think you should do a set collection game (like Sushi Go) using different classes of historical women - scientists, artists, nobility, etc. That will allow you to show off the graphic design without spending too much of your time going back and forth on rules.

At the end of the day, your thesis won't be judged on the quality of the rules and mechanics!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lampeter
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
That sounds like a really cool project!

I am very new to game design, so take my game designer badge with a grain of salt.