$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 127.77

7,567 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror: Innsmouth Horror Expansion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules (General) Q&A with Innsmouth-specific too rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Arnott
msg tools
A few quick questions, the answers to which I am still unsure of:

GENERAL:

Monsters:

If, during the Mythos Phase, a Monster moves onto a space with an Investigator, when does the investigator engage with the Monster?

If “A Monster appears” during an Arkham or O.W. encounter phase, you Fight/Evade the monster, then does it go back into the cup irrespective of the outcome of the Fight/Evade?

If an investigator comes back from the O.W to the Gate, and there is a monster there, in what phase does he Sneak or Fight? And does he have to do this before he can attempt to Close / Seal the Gate?
During the Mythos Phase, when “A Clue appears at:”, can Clue Tokens be added to a Location with Monsters on? I assume Yes…

If you are sitting on a Gate, with an ‘Explored’ token, can you close the Gate, to claim the Gate token without Sealing the Gate (if, for example, you [Stupidly] don’t have enough Clue Tokens to Seal it)??

How do you get from Falcon Point to Devil's reef (if you don't have Silas Marsh!)?

In Insmouth Horror, Monsters don’t count towards the Monster limit in Arkham. BUT if there is a Monster Surge in Innsmouth, is the surge only calculated on Gates in Innsmouth, or in Arkham as well?

Apologies if some of these are easy and obvious...

regards,

Slippery


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfie
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Slipperythings wrote:
If, during the Mythos Phase, a Monster moves onto a space with an Investigator, when does the investigator engage with the Monster?


You'll have to deal with the monster during the next Movement Phase. This is when you fight/evade monsters.

Slipperythings wrote:
If “A Monster appears” during an Arkham or O.W. encounter phase, you Fight/Evade the monster, then does it go back into the cup irrespective of the outcome of the Fight/Evade?


If you defeat it, you keep it as a monster trophy. If you Evade it, it goes back into the cup. If it defeats you, you go to Lost in Time in Space, the hospital or the asylum depending on how the combat played out and where you were when you encountered it.

Slipperythings wrote:
If an investigator comes back from the O.W to the Gate, and there is a monster there, in what phase does he Sneak or Fight? And does he have to do this before he can attempt to Close / Seal the Gate?


You will have to deal with the monster during the next Movement Phase. If you are returning from the other world during Other World Movement, there would be no need to deal with the monster until the next Arkham Movement. If you are returning as a result of encounter or spell, you still have until the next Arkham Movement to deal with the monster.

Slipperythings wrote:
During the Mythos Phase, when “A Clue appears at:”, can Clue Tokens be added to a Location with Monsters on? I assume Yes…


Yes.

Slipperythings wrote:
If you are sitting on a Gate, with an ‘Explored’ token, can you close the Gate, to claim the Gate token without Sealing the Gate (if, for example, you [Stupidly] don’t have enough Clue Tokens to Seal it)??


Yes, you can close gates (and take the gate trophy) without sealing. However, if another gate opens there, doom will be added.

Slipperythings wrote:
How do you get from Falcon Point to Devil's reef (if you don't have Silas Marsh!)?


Spend $2 in Falcon Point, and a boat will take you to Devil's Reef. However, to get back, you will need an encounter that will take you or another investigator to go to Falcon Point, spend $2 to have a boat come fetch you.

Slipperythings wrote:
In Insmouth Horror, Monsters don’t count towards the Monster limit in Arkham. BUT if there is a Monster Surge in Innsmouth, is the surge only calculated on Gates in Innsmouth, or in Arkham as well?


Both Arkham and Innsmouth gates will spawn monsters, but only the monsters that spawn in Arkham will count toward the monster limit.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bravo Whiskey
Scotland
Fochabers
flag msg tools
mb
Slipperythings wrote:
If, during the Mythos Phase, a Monster moves onto a space with an Investigator, when does the investigator engage with the Monster?

The investigator will engage with the monster during the investigator's movement phase. The investigator can fight the monster (and remain in the location, because combat ends movement) or try to evade the monster. If the investigator evades the monster successfully he/she may continue their movement.

Slipperythings wrote:
If “A Monster appears” during an Arkham or O.W. encounter phase, you Fight/Evade the monster, then does it go back into the cup irrespective of the outcome of the Fight/Evade?

If the monster is evaded the token goes back in the cup. If the monster is defeated in combat the investigator keeps the token as a trophy.

Slipperythings wrote:
If an investigator comes back from the O.W to the Gate, and there is a monster there, in what phase does he Sneak or Fight? And does he have to do this before he can attempt to Close / Seal the Gate?

Sneak or fight first (in the movement phase) then attempt to close/seal the gate in the next phase (the Arkham encounters phase).

Slipperythings wrote:
During the Mythos Phase, when “A Clue appears at:”, can Clue Tokens be added to a Location with Monsters on? I assume Yes…

With monsters: yes. With gates: no. Although I think there's a variant somewhere that changes how gates effect token placement or investigator movement, or something.

Slipperythings wrote:
If you are sitting on a Gate, with an ‘Explored’ token, can you close the Gate, to claim the Gate token without Sealing the Gate (if, for example, you [Stupidly] don’t have enough Clue Tokens to Seal it)??

If you close a gate you get the gate as a trophy whether you seal the gate or not.


Slipperythings wrote:
How do you get from Falcon Point to Devil's reef (if you don't have Silas Marsh!)?

You can charter a boat at Falcon Point for $2. You could get to Devil Reef from Lost in Time and Space but the investigator would be stuck there until another investigator hired a boat at Falcon Point


Slipperythings wrote:
In Insmouth Horror, Monsters don’t count towards the Monster limit in Arkham. BUT if there is a Monster Surge in Innsmouth, is the surge only calculated on Gates in Innsmouth, or in Arkham as well?

I don't remember.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gil Martin wrote:
Slipperythings wrote:
In Insmouth Horror, Monsters don’t count towards the Monster limit in Arkham. BUT if there is a Monster Surge in Innsmouth, is the surge only calculated on Gates in Innsmouth, or in Arkham as well?

I don't remember.
Surges affect all open Gates.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bern Harkins
United States
Buffalo
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Slipperythings wrote:

If an investigator comes back from the O.W to the Gate, and there is a monster there, in what phase does he Sneak or Fight? And does he have to do this before he can attempt to Close / Seal the Gate?


Whenever you return to Arkham from an OW, you can ignore monsters at your location until the end of that turn.

Usually, this means you can try to close the gate before dealing with the monsters, but if you return after the Arkham Encounters Phase (due to an OW encounter or Mythos card), you will not have a chance to close that turn. On the next turn's Movement Phase, you will need to evade or fight any monsters at your location.

You can choose to fight monsters at your location on the turn you return to Arkham; you can even fight some and ignore others.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfie
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wolfpack48 wrote:
Slipperythings wrote:
If “A Monster appears” during an Arkham or O.W. encounter phase, you Fight/Evade the monster, then does it go back into the cup irrespective of the outcome of the Fight/Evade?


If you defeat it, you keep it as a monster trophy. If you Evade it, it goes back into the cup. If it defeats you, you go to Lost in Time in Space, the hospital or the asylum depending on how the combat played out and where you were when you encountered it (and the monster goes back to the cup).


Contrast this too with a "a gate and a monster appear," in which case you are drawn through the gate and delayed, and the monster stays in the encounter location on the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.