$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 128.91

7,615 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie question - demoted general and excess SPs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
What happens to the excess SPs of a demoted general?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing happens. You can have a 1-star general in a hex with 99 SPs, if you want. He just won't be able to move with more than 3 of them. You can also have a stack of 99 SPs with no general at all.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
ah thanks, for some reason i confused command limit with stacking limit. You'll find neatly-stacked 3SP stacks with no general all over my board modest
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Usually you won't want to have more SPs in a hex than your general can command and move with, because immobile forces aren't as valuable as those that can react. But there are some cases where you might intentionally do that, e.g., you might want to defend a Fort with a couple of 1-star or 2-star generals, and 7 or 9 SP.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
Ok, so i still don't think i fully understand this part:

If you are for instance defending a hex with 5SPs plus a 1 Star general do you have the choice of a) using his DRM bonus but only defend with using the 3SP column on the CRT or b) not using the general and defend with with 5SPs or c) defend with 5SPs plus the general's DRM?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The last one, "C", is correct when defending.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
thanks...and if multiple generals occupy the hex with 5SPs?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule 11.3 answers all of these questions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steffen Beck
Germany
Passau
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks, again the command limit is throwing me off here-
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.