$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.05

4,589 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.9% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing Tokens At The Beginning of a Round rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris M

Florida
msg tools
In the Redemption Story "Battleground of Souls", each round begins where "The Sin player must place these [innocent, fire, corruption] new face-down tokens, one per district (if able)." What is the meaning of the verbiage "if able"?

My interpretation is that each token should be placed in different districts. But can each district accumulate more than one exploration token in this way? Would you have to place in the districts with the fewest exploration tokens first? I am just not sure why the term "if able" is needed, unless it's considering the supply may have zero of that type of token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In the rulebook, is says that if you run out of a certain type of token to ignore the effect that produce that particular token. Thus in your question. If, at the beginning of a round, all the fire token were already in play, the sin player wouldn't be required to place another in play since he had none left (aka he's unable to place the token). He would still put in play the two other tokens however.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris M

Florida
msg tools
Okay, that makes sense! We got way too hung up on this considering how simple it really is. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt T
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Can someone clarify if there is any restriction on where you can place tokens on the board? Can the spaces have heroes or monsters in them or empty locations?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
msg tools
mbmbmb
wiggumpi wrote:
Can someone clarify if there is any restriction on where you can place tokens on the board? Can the spaces have heroes or monsters in them or empty locations?

There are no restrictions beyond what is printed on the Story Card, which is generally that each of the exploration tokens you place at the start of a round have to be in different rooms from each other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Aull
United States
Owensboro
KY
flag msg tools
Gamer Without a Cause
mbmbmbmbmb
XeyneGaming wrote:
wiggumpi wrote:
Can someone clarify if there is any restriction on where you can place tokens on the board? Can the spaces have heroes or monsters in them or empty locations?

There are no restrictions beyond what is printed on the Story Card, which is generally that each of the exploration tokens you place at the start of a round have to be in different rooms from each other.


3-4 fire tokens in a frequently-passed room is a great way to slow down the FAITH
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.