$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 56.66

4,121 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
26% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Paul Bach
United States
Rocky Hill
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I am planning on starting a solo campaign of HotAC this week and am a little confused by the Mission icons and deployment of imperial ships.

If I were playing a two player squad of "Local Trouble", setup would consist of one squad of two TIE Fighters, and a second squad of a single TIE Fighter. A TIE Infiltrator would show up on turn four and one final TIE Fighter would show up on turn 7. That seems pretty easy.

Now take the mission "Imperial Entanglement." If I were playing a six player game where my average pilot skill was 5, then on turn six I would deploy a Decimator with 6 extra shields as one and TIE Fighter (2p & 6p columns) and a random and a single random ship as dictated by the 5p column replacing the 4p column TIE Fighter.

If my average PS was 9 with six players, then on turn 6 I would deploy the Decimator as above but I would deploy 2 TIE fighters (1p & 6p columns) and two random ships of the same type (3p & 5p columns) which would replace the two TIE fighters in the 2p & 4p columns that would have been deployed if my average PS was below 4.

Do I have these examples correct? or are the Random ships with the [up arrow] in addition to the two TIE Fighters in the 2p and 4p columns?

[edited for better punctuation.]




1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Storgar The Viking
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe all ship types in a squad must be the same type.

So with imperial entanglement:

Player PS5 with 6 players would see Delta squad being 3 ships of random type.
At PS8/9 you would 4 ships of random type.

6 players PS2-3 = 3 tie fighters
PS4-7 = 3 random ship type
PS8+ = 4 random ship type

If using 3 players as an example you would get:
PS1-5 = 1 tie fighter
PS6-7 = 1 Random ship
PS8-9 = 2 Random ships
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bach
United States
Rocky Hill
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I had understood that all random ships in a squad should be the same, but it would not affect the non-random ships in the same squad. Mixed squads would just get deployed in two separate formations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Storgar The Viking
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually I think you might be right.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Derksen
Canada
Toronto
ON
flag msg tools
armoredgear7.net
badge
Heroes of the Aturi Cluster dockingbay416.com/campaign
mbmbmbmbmb
PaulRadagast wrote:
So I am planning on starting a solo campaign of HotAC this week and am a little confused by the Mission icons and deployment of imperial ships.

If I were playing a two player squad of "Local Trouble", setup would consist of one squad of two TIE Fighters, and a second squad of a single TIE Fighter. A TIE Infiltrator would show up on turn four and one final TIE Fighter would show up on turn 7. That seems pretty easy.

Now take the mission "Imperial Entanglement." If I were playing a six player game where my average pilot skill was 5, then on turn six I would deploy a Decimator with 6 extra shields as one and TIE Fighter (2p & 6p columns) and a random and a single random ship as dictated by the 5p column replacing the 4p column TIE Fighter.

If my average PS was 9 with six players, then on turn 6 I would deploy the Decimator as above but I would deploy 2 TIE fighters (1p & 6p columns) and two random ships of the same type (3p & 5p columns) which would replace the two TIE fighters in the 2p & 4p columns that would have been deployed if my average PS was below 4.

Do I have these examples correct? or are the Random ships with the [up arrow] in addition to the two TIE Fighters in the 2p and 4p columns?

[edited for better punctuation.]



All of your examples are correct.
The up arrow literally means "upgrade one TIE fighter to".

I have found that the table presentation for enemy squads tends to break down when you're dealing with a large player group with high PS. I mean, it does work and you've interpreted it correctly, but it's messy.

In many cases, I could probably achieve similar game balance by having an extra squad row that only deals with adding new ships for high PS, and scrap the "upgrade a ship in this squad" mechanic altogether. High level Rebels shred regular TIEs like nobody's business anyway, so it rarely matters if there are a couple extras.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Bach
United States
Rocky Hill
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the reply. I thought I had it correct, but wanted to make sure.

Maybe you could phrase it as "Replace a TIE Fighter [in this squad] with a random ship type, if Rebel PS is ≥4" in the example given.

In my first couple of readings of the rules I thought I needed to replace an already deployed TIE Fighter that was already active. It makes no sense when I think about it, but I appreciate rules that help to avoid ambiguity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Dubeau
msg tools
I have a question about the Capture Officer mission.

What happens if you ion the Lambda shuttle and it's forced to go off the edge of the map?

Do you fail the mission?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wilder

Daly City
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. The Lambda is destroyed. You can't meet the victory conditions, so the mission fails.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rathbun
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Another mission-specific question regarding attack vectors:

In "Secure Holonet Receiver" there is an Inspection team that arrives once the holonet channel has been identified. The attach vector is given as 2/5. The inspection team is a Lambda shuttle as well as some TIE Interceptors. I placed the Lambda on one vector (5) and the Interceptors on the other (2) because I thought that was what it meant by the 2/5. Now I'm thinking I did that wrong, and the entire squad should come in on the same vector.

It seems to make more sense that way... with the Interceptors acting as an escort for the shuttle. Is that what I should have done?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.