Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Hall
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been writing game reviews on and off for a couple years. I do it mostly just because I like writing, but if anything I've written has helped someone make a decision about a game, I'm delighted.

However, these days, it seems game reviewers are a dime a dozen. It's easy to feel like your reviews just blend into the mass of armchair game critics out there. I'm sure some of you have felt this same way.

I want to take a different approach to reviewing. In the past, I have reached out to very small publishers/designers to review their stuff, the stuff you might not see on The Dice Tower, etc. While this means my audience is probably going to be small as well, its rewarding to help the little guys get some publicity.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Based upon my poor understanding of history, science, and ethics...
United States
North Pole
Alaska
flag msg tools
Be the reviewer who plays the game before reviewing it.

Maybe even many times.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reed Dawley
United States
Delmar
New York
flag msg tools
I wish I could play more games.
badge
Collecting games is not playing games.
mbmbmbmbmb
I have only written a few reviews but they have all been for smaller games. Everyone knows if they want to play Agricola or Catan or Codenames. I have nothing to add there, but smaller games with few reviews need love too.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keith B
United States
Katy
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't generally watch or read reviews. I want to see how a game is played. Right now there are only a few that I watch and/or are tolerable.

Change over to play-throughs and have a fun personality without going overboard.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelley Wolatz
United States
Nebraska
flag msg tools