$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 65.95

4,638 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
29.2% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sea Fall switching goods rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


I know you can exchange goods from one ship to another while in port

Could you exchange goods between ships if on the same sea hex (thematically by life boat or ropes stretched across each bow?)

think of the possibilities of crossing paths in the ocean to get goods to where they can be sold faster - of course, you could meet at an island

also, if you exchange at sea, would that immediately stop your sail movement?

arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
You have to be at an island or port. I'm not looking at the rulebook but I know this is covered.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JR Honeycutt
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only exchange when you're at a location - an island or your home port.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stack
msg tools
mb
Have to be at land to move goods between ships, whether your province, an island or an atoll.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Stevenson
United Kingdom
Watford
Herts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The exact rules text is:

"Before and/or after you sail, if both your ships are together at any
region (that is, at land), you may rearrange goods between their holds.
You may also load or unload goods from your ships’ holds into or out
of warehouses you control in that region."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Robb
United States
Calais
Maine
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


thank you

arrrh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rob also clarified in one of the designer notes articles that you have an opportunity to shift goods (at land) before and after *each* ship sails, not just before and after the sail action as a whole. So the following is legitimate (quoted from the designer notes):
Quote:
One trick is to buy goods on two different islands, then move your first ship to your second ship, transfer the good to the second ship, and then sail the second ship home with both goods. This chaining of sail actions allows a good to go twice as far in one turn than keeping them on their original ships.

...which is a variation on the original question.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Breckenridge
msg tools
A couple of follow up questions to this:

The sailing rules mention that if your ships are in the same space they can move together and shows an example of both ships starting in the same space, moving 3 spaces, and then the faster ship continuing on another space.

1. Could you still do this sort of action if the ships didn't start in the space, one is moved to the other, and then they continue on together?

2. Can goods be transferred between ships at the start/end of one ships movement if the other ships is in the middle of its move? For example, using the example in the rulebook, if the last space the slower ship moved to was an island, could it move some goods to to other ship which has one movement left?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
thrilledcodex wrote:
A couple of follow up questions to this:

The sailing rules mention that if your ships are in the same space they can move together and shows an example of both ships starting in the same space, moving 3 spaces, and then the faster ship continuing on another space.

1. Could you still do this sort of action if the ships didn't start in the space, one is moved to the other, and then they continue on together?



Yes. I would even say its legal to sail one to the other, sail both together, then split up again.

Quote:
2. Can goods be transferred between ships at the start/end of one ships movement if the other ships is in the middle of its move? For example, using the example in the rulebook, if the last space the slower ship moved to was an island, could it move some goods to to other ship which has one movement left?


No. They both need to be at the start or end of movement. Not just one ship.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
KoalaXav wrote:
Quote:
2. Can goods be transferred between ships at the start/end of one ships movement if the other ships is in the middle of its move? For example, using the example in the rulebook, if the last space the slower ship moved to was an island, could it move some goods to to other ship which has one movement left?


No. They both need to be at the start or end of movement. Not just one ship.

I think you meant this, but to clarify: it's legal to transfer goods between one ship finishing movement and the other ship starting movement.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clinton Rice
United States
Chino
California
flag msg tools
mbmb
Becq wrote:
[q="KoalaXav"]
Quote:
2. Can goods be transferred between ships at the start/end of one ships movement if the other ships is in the middle of its move? For example, using the example in the rulebook, if the last space the slower ship moved to was an island, could it move some goods to to other ship which has one movement left?


No. They both need to be at the start or end of movement. Not just one ship.

I think you meant this, but to clarify: it's legal to transfer goods between one ship finishing movement and the other ship starting movement.[/q

Yes. Thats what I meant. Or to put it more clearly, if either ship moved before moving goods, it cannot continue to move after.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.