$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 117.69

7,136 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Hands in the Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Leader "free action in land battle" card text misleading? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the RAW, shouldn't this be Land AND Sea battles?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judd Vance
United States
WICHITA
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Adding leaders to a naval combat is not an action.

Think of it this way: when you attack a location, you perform the following steps for a single action.
1) Play connecting location card and announce the attack.
2) Play connecting ship icon or cart(s) icons.
3) Add a card with a sword or ship icon.

To add additional sword/ship icon is a reinforce action. Leaders reinforce for free.

Likewise, playing a ship icon card and declaring a naval action battle has many steps. Those steps are:

1) Attacker commits leaders to battle from his hand.
2) Defender commits leaders to battle from his hand.
3) If Roman player has corvus card, he removes any infantry cards from his reserve that he wants to commit to the battle (no more than 1 per ship).
4) Roll dice.
5) Subtract losses.
6) Send cards to discard/empire deck.
7) Move prestige marker.

This is all one action. That is why the card text doesn't say adding a leader to a naval battle is a free action. Adding any swords cards to a naval battle (via leader or corvus) is understood to NOT be an action unto itself).
6 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course. There is no "reinforce a land battle" action for naval battles. Duh. Thanks, Judd.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Attacking a location on step #3 above can be accomplished with the play of a sword only.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
mbmbmbmbmb
How's that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
5.2.1 Attack a Location.
A Location card must be played that connects to the intended attacking location. Then cards must be played to pay the necessary transport costs (similar to settling a location). Finnaly, a card must be played that has at least 1 Sword symbol on it.

So, you cant attack with a Ship icon.

See here!

meeple
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Clarke
United States
Hoboken
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Loving Hardcore History with Dan Carlin
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha. I thought you were speaking on another issue.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.