$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 83.81

5,564 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
35.1% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Festung Europa: The Campaign for Western Europe, 1943-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tracing supply via ports rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
jon carter
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
I'm confused between getting full and limited supply. Sections 11.51 seems to say that units are in full supply if within 3 hexes of a friendly port but 11.52 that they are in limited...

Jon
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Cross-posted from Consimworld:

Rule 11.43 defines whether or not a unit is in supply. As in, in supply or out of supply. That is why rule 11.45 follows it. Having defined when a unit is in supply in rule 11.43 the latter rule covers any other case: when a unit is Out of Supply. If it is out of supply a number of penalties, found in 11.6, apply.

The issue here is not distance but rather whether or not there is a path.

Rules 11.51 and 11.52 define supply for purposes of activation and combat, whether or not a unit is in supply or Out of Supply.

The issue here is not a matter of a path (unless the unit is Out of Supply - then 11.6 comes into play) but rather the distance.

It is very easy to be in Limited Supply. An Allied unit in Toulouse in southern France can trace supply back to Cherbourg, for example, and from Cherbourg to the Supply Source in the UK Reserve Box. But the unit is well beyond the range of being in Full Supply.

Now let's suppose the Allies have captured Bordeaux. An Allied unit in Toulouse may trace supply back to Bordeaux, for example, and from Bordeaux back to the Supply Source in the UK Reserve Box. That unit is in Full Supply. Similarly, let's suppose that Bordeaux is not Allied-controlled but Marseilles is. That Allied unit in Toulouse could trace supply to Marseilles, and from Marseilles to the Supply Source in the North Africa Reserve Box. That unit is also in Full Supply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hellsten
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Allied examples are very clear.

Presumably the Axis cannot use ports to stay in Full Supply because their supply sources are not directly connected to any port.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.