Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Toby Otero
United States
Monroe
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just picked this up last week and I just don't know where to start.
I'm VERY new to wargames in general (I've played a few basic ones like Combat Commander, Conflict of Heroes and Washington's War). But, for some reason... I'm just having the hardest time just getting started with this one.
Any advice at all would be helpful. Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Turcan
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
TL-DR - Keep at it. Read the rules 10 times, play the game solo a few. Then, play with other people who might bring up things you might have missed. THEN you can start having serious games.

Well I can't help teach, BUT I was in the same boat as you. I had played some of the lesser complex stuff like Commands and Colours. But, when I tried to read some more in depth stuff I felt so lost. Labyrinth is what put me in a sour mood. At the time, I had only a few games I hadn't learned, but I kept buying. Soon it piled up.

Then Triumph and Tragedy came along. I THOUGHT I had the rules down, but I really didn't. After having a game and forgetting so many I was mad at myself. So I sat down and played solo probably at least 5 times just going over everything again and again. It really helped me grasp how GMT rules are written, and I feel that's what really made learning new games click with me.

Well, last week I did a play of Wilderness War solo and retained a lot more information that what I would have going in as a complete n00b.

Good luck bud. I hope you don't get discourage and stick with it. I sympathize and will say it can be hard to people to start out in. Also, I'm bias, but Wilderness War is excellent. But I just like North American history a lot.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toby Otero
United States
Monroe
Louisiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb