1 Posts

Risk Europe» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Risk-Europe Strategy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Board Gamer
msg tools
Notes about this post:
-I always play the mission card variant rather than buying crown cards.
-I am still a noob. Please disagree with and expand upon what I've said. Hopefully this forum can be a place we can all bounce around ideas about what we've noticed/ what works well for us.
-Hopefully we can eventually discuss strategy regarding starting city as well. (I didn't have time to write that now)

General Strategies:
1) Expand early. Basically, I believe in almost all scenarios it is ideal to play split expands and expands early on to take control of as many unowned nearby cities as quickly as possible. The reasons are threefold. A) the first player to claim a city gains those coins for being the first to acquire it. B) Expanding before taxing is economically more efficient because you will acquire a stronger tax link before taxing and thus get more coins per tax in the first and very important round.
C) obviously quickly expanding is valuable because you gain a point per city. It is worth trying to expand as far as possible (without overreaching) in order to be the first player to own a city. Besides the tax reasons previously stated, this early expansion is important because almost everyone knows that a big part of risk is staying out of excessive conflict. Therefore most players will be hesitant to attack a city you own early on if they fear you could fortify or reinforce sufficient troops in, making it a costly conflict so early on.