$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 51.31

3,810 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
24% of Goal | 30 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Ascension: Storm of Souls» Forums » Rules

Subject: Seeking Confirmation About Arha Rising rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Clark
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
The event Arha rising states that Once during their turn, when a player discards any number of cards, they may return one of them to their hand.

I saw a thread about the definition of "discard" which seemed to conclude that discards are actions where you are directed to remove a card from your hand and put it in the discard pile. Discards are not, for example, placing an acquired card in your discard pile.

Can someone confirm the Arha Rising rule as it applies to Constructs that a player either chooses to destroy to get a benefit or are required to be destroyed by the play of another player? In other words, are destroyed Constructs "discards" that can be saved for Arha Rising? Or does Arha Rising not apply?

We have been playing that destroyed constructs are NOT discards, but we are looking for confirmation.

Many thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
RoccoTerrier wrote:
We have been playing that destroyed constructs are NOT discards, but we are looking for confirmation.

You have been playing the game correctly. "Discard" is a keyword in the game and, unless that term is explicitly used, the act of placing a card in the discard pile is not considered "discarding".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
RoccoTerrier wrote:
The event Arha rising states that Once during their turn, when a player discards any number of cards, they may return one of them to their hand.

I saw a thread about the definition of "discard" which seemed to conclude that discards are actions where you are directed to remove a card from your hand and put it in the discard pile. Discards are not, for example, placing an acquired card in your discard pile.

Can someone confirm the Arha Rising rule as it applies to Constructs that a player either chooses to destroy to get a benefit or are required to be destroyed by the play of another player? In other words, are destroyed Constructs "discards" that can be saved for Arha Rising? Or does Arha Rising not apply?

We have been playing that destroyed constructs are NOT discards, but we are looking for confirmation.

Many thanks.


Since it was brought up, another similar "loophole" you may NOT use is when Hedron Rising event is in play, you can only prevent the destruction of 1 construct when a monster forces you.

You cannot, destroy your own construct through any other effect, like using Autobuilder 5.0's effect to destroy itself, Banishing the Fanatic, and keeping the Autobuilder 5.0 in play while still getting the -2 rune discount on m/c
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.