GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 82.76
34.7% of Goal | 27 Days Left
What happens to aircraft that have been assigned missions if a carrier is sunk? CAP,ASW and Search. Could aircraft on Strike missions that could not be completed in a single turn divert, if feasible?
From the ancient FAQ (last updated in 2002).
Q: What happens to the CAP of a carrier if it is sunk during surface combat? Can it still fly CAP missions before it "splashes" into the sea? What about ASW or Search aircraft? Can they attempt to fly to land bases if in range?
A: Yes and yes.