$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 79.34

5,340 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
33.7% of Goal | 27 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Amateurs to Arms!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wellington leader rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Why is this an optional counter? Did Wellington not participate in the War of 1812?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Borchers
United States
Keller
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He did not participate in the War of 1812. He had more important things to do in Spain.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
KEEP America Great!
mbmbmbmbmb
Or, more accurately, Britain had more important things to do with Wellington.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew MacLeod
Canada
London
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The reason he's optional, though, is that if he dies, the British have to make two Peace Track moves. For that reason alone, many a British player will prefer to leave him in Europe!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I didn't see that in the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Name this Leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
Joe, sorry the rule didn't make it into the body of the rules. It's on the back of the Wellington counter. Probably should have been both places.

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin McPartland
United States
Jessup
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Name this Leader counter from Amateurs, To Arms! by Clash of Arms Games.
badge
Warrior Band counter for Conquest of Paradise by GMT Games.
mbmbmbmbmb
mr_peabody wrote:
He had more important things to do in Spain.

He was indeed busy in Spain the start of the War of 1812. But by the time he had an opportunity to go to the New World- after Napoleon was defeated- Wellington had certainly completed his work there. Many thought that the obvious choice would be to send Wellington to America, but he thought otherwise. He said he would be of little value there, and that the commanders in place were doing a good job. The British government respected his wishes, and did not send him- although they could have.

In hindsight, it was probably a good idea. I believe that he would have been greatly successful in the New World, far more competent than Prevost was. But he might have caught a bullet like Ross did, or even simply been busy with operations in America when Napoleon escaped from Elba. And then were would have the British been, when they needed Wellington in Europe?

Kevin
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.