$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 132.07

7,747 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
48.8% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hoplomachus: Origins» Forums » Rules

Subject: Defenders and retaliate rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Waite
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
Can defenders absorb retaliate hits?
 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bård Holst
msg tools
mb
I would think so yes.

If a defender is adjacent to a unit that is about to get a hit from "retaliate" he could absorb that hit.
 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Wielgus
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Good question!

Nusferatu wrote:
I would think so yes.

If a defender is adjacent to a unit that is about to get a hit from "retaliate" he could absorb that hit.


Answer would actually be "no."

Intercept Blow (Ability): When a Basic Attack damages an adjacent friendly unit, this unit can intercept that entire damage. Damage cannot be split up.

Retaliate (Ability): When attacked and hit with a Basic Atk by an adjacent unit, do 1 damage back to the attacking unit (even if this unit is defeated).

Because retaliate is an ability, and not a basic attack, intercept blow is unable to be used in this instance.

Hope that helps! Let us know if you have any other questions :-)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.