$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 71.57

4,938 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
31.1% of Goal | 28 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Alien vs Predator: The Hunt Begins» Forums » Rules

Subject: Critical success during facehug rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven Noyes
United Kingdom
West Sussex
flag msg tools
So, if your facehugger scores a critical success whilst face hugging, do you automatically spawn an alien without a con test?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shirley T
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
From the rules:

Power Shot – Dice rolls that result in a natural
(i.e. Unmodifed) 1 are always successful. Armour or
Heal rolls cannot be made if the to Hit roll results in a
natural 1


Facehug (P) – Models hit in Close Combat must pass a Con
Test instead of an Armour Test, or lose one Wound.


The underlined sections give you your answer: since the Con Test is instead of an Armour Test and a Power Shot denies "Armor rolls"... Yes, the victim gets no Con test.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Noyes
United Kingdom
West Sussex
flag msg tools
I can see your reasoning and kind of agree, but as with many things in AvP's rules it is not as clearly written as it could be.
"Armour" rolls cannot be made, since a "Con" roll is made instead of an armour roll you could argue the roll must be made as it now isnt an armour roll anymore.
I agree with you, but i can see the other side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shirley T
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
popsical wrote:
I can see your reasoning and kind of agree, but as with many things in AvP's rules it is not as clearly written as it could be.
"Armour" rolls cannot be made, since a "Con" roll is made instead of an armour roll you could argue the roll must be made as it now isnt an armour roll anymore.
I agree with you, but i can see the other side.

This is a totally valid viewpoint... However, I find that if you think about the rules in this manner, blood will shoot out of your ears .

So I would just default to the INTENT of the Power Shot rule: which appears to be to negate the target's save.

Good luck playing against a rules nazi though whistle
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Noyes
United Kingdom
West Sussex
flag msg tools
Lol. Im with you on that on every level!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.