$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 117.69

7,136 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
45% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mr. Madison's War: The Incredible War of 1812» Forums » Rules

Subject: 2 questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Graves
United States
Norwalk
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmb
Does a unit which retreats into an empty enemy space, but is large enough to establish control (and presumably has a supply line) get flipped?

I think the example on p12 says that it doesn't, but i am struggling to be completely clear on it.

Does a naval unit which retreats via 9.61

9.61 If land units enter a space or end their turn in a space
containing only enemy naval vessels, those vessels must immediately
retreat to any friendly lakeside town on the same lake.

have the same option to retreat to a controlled enemy space that 10.82 allows?

10.82 In order to retreat by water the unit(s) must be in a lakeside
town with sufficient naval vessels in the same space able
to carry them. They may retreat to any friendly lakeside town
or a lakeside town that they currently control.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gilbert Collins
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Kevin, I think you misread the example. The example describes a unit of your side that is already in the enemy space and has it under control. In that case, your friendly unit could retreat to it. BUT, if NO friendly unit is in the enemy town PRIOR to your unit having to retreat there then it DOES lose a step. This is a key feature of the game. As you advance you must secure your rear.

For the naval retreat it is quite simple. Just retreat the unit to any friendly lake side town on the same lake. (Lake Erie units can retreat to Lake Huron if no lakeside town exists on Erie)

Hope this helps.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Graves
United States
Norwalk
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks for the clarification Gilbert!

Just to be certain, an enemy space which is friendly controlled space is considered 'friendly' for the purposes right of 9.61 right?

Thanks again
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.