$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 124.06

7,410 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
46.7% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Catan» Forums » Variants

Subject: Welfare Variant Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William H. Bonney
United States
Clovis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the "Welfare" variant allow trading these new welfare tokens with other players for resources cards? That is, during trading, are players allowed to trade their "Welfare tokens" to other players, rather than the bank, for resources cards, if they are able to strike a better bargain? Are these welfare tokens considered resources? If so, are they subject to the effects of Monopoly cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reiner Dr. Düren
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What do you mean with "Welfare Variant"? This: http://www.catan.com/game/catan-scenarios-frenemies ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William H. Bonney
United States
Clovis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the reply. No, the variant you provided a link to is not the one I am referring to. The welfare variant is not an official variant. This is the welfare variant: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/22173/welfare-variant...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raithyn
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Typically no to both questions. Welfare tokens are more akin to development cards. It's a house rule though, so it's really up to you/your group.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald McDaniel
United States
Lakewood
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Our house rule is to allow them to be traded, especially to sweeten a deal made with resource cards. Whatever works best for you is the way to go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William H. Bonney
United States
Clovis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What about welfare tokens being subject to the effects of a monopoly card?If you agree that the welfare tokens are treated the same as resource cards, can they be "called in" by a person playing a monopoly card?

Thanks for the responses. Much appreciated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike B
Canada
Whitby
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way we play it is that welfare tokens can't be traded and aren't subject to any other game mechanics like the Monopoly card.

But as mentioned be a couple of other posters, since this is a house rule anyway, do whatever works best for your group.

Our slight variation on this is that you don't get the welfare token if the only reason you aren't getting a resource is that the robber is on your space. Which I realize is a little more harsh than the original intent of this variant, but it works for us.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gerald McDaniel
United States
Lakewood
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
neiltherealdeal wrote:
What about welfare tokens being subject to the effects of a monopoly card?If you agree that the welfare tokens are treated the same as resource cards, can they be "called in" by a person playing a monopoly card?

Thanks for the responses. Much appreciated.


Not for us. We don't consider the token to be a resource, but in lieu of a resource. Think of it as money, rather than a natural or cultivated resource. That's just our approach.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William H. Bonney
United States
Clovis
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! Thank you for all the responses. I have lots of a ideas with everything you folks have given me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.