$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 126.86

7,529 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Insurgent Capability for bot rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Parker
msg tools
Quote from rules:

Quote:
Ineffective Events. Non-players only opt for Events that would
have an effect (something happens, including Capabilities, 5.3)
and for Momentum Events (5.4) when the next card showing is
not Propaganda.


When it comes to capabilities does that mean the bot only takes it when immediate effect would happen?
If not then what is an example of a insurgent bot not taking a capability not including event exceptions on the bottom of the bot foldout.

Thanks,
Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Petr Míka
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi getting some capability is considered as having an effect. Bots don't get them only if special instructions tells them or if it is the last card in the game (then the capability won't have any effect - same as the GovBot won't take any Momentum just before propaganda).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
eric2800 wrote:
Quote from rules:

Quote:
Ineffective Events. Non-players only opt for Events that would
have an effect (something happens, including Capabilities, 5.3)
and for Momentum Events (5.4) when the next card showing is
not Propaganda.


When it comes to capabilities does that mean the bot only takes it when immediate effect would happen?

No. (If that had been the case bots would never play any Capabilities, since Capability Events never have any immediate effect!)

Quote:
If not then what is an example of a insurgent bot not taking a capability not including event exceptions on the bottom of the bot foldout.

The rule you quoted says that Capabilities are always considered to have an effect, in spite of not having their effects immediately.

This means that bots only refuse to play Capabilities if they are 2nd Eligible and their "ally" Faction is played by a player, per the 2nd bullet of rule 8.1.

Regards,
Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Parker
msg tools
Wow that was fast. I was playing correctly because mostly because that was the only thing that makes sense. It was just that the bots were playing quite a few of them. It made me wonder.

Also it seems to me that Cuba Libre's cards are very powerful at times. I played with govt and was doing good. But the syndicate seems just too powerful with the ability to trade cash for open casino placement at propaganda. I was wondering about that rule and others but the playbook has really helped a lot with rules questions. Without that the rules forum would have many more threads. But any way I had stole 2 cash, attacked after sweeping the syndicate closing many casinos. Then the syndicate gets event that opens all closed casinos. Very tough. Syndicate wins. Also if event comes out where Havana goes to neutral especially at end of game, then govt hosed.

Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A few comments:

- Yes, CL has more powerful non-Pivotal Events (in comparison to the number of mmap spaces and pieces) than any other COIN game. In games where the entire 48-Event deck is used (which is what the rules present as the normal setup) this isn't that big a problem since all Factions have their own respective nukes to toss around, but it makes balance in the 40- and unofficial 30-card scenarios very dependent on the exact card mix.

- If Havana goes Neutral, Govt still gets a final chance to restore Support there through Civic Action before the end of the game... if they have the Resources needed and have managed to retain Control, that is.

- Unless the Syndicate has 2 or more Underground Guerrillas in a Casino space, Govt doesn't necessarily need to Sweep to close the Casinos. Reprisal places Terror, but doesn't damage existing Support...

/Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.