$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 108.06

6,710 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
42.3% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Others» Forums » Rules

Subject: ranged attacks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ilia deno
United States
Bellevue
WA
flag msg tools
hi,

I'm trying to understand the monster movement after a ranged attack:

the rulebook simply states:
Then, if any Monsters in the targeted Space survived, they may Move up to 2 Spaces to try and Fight back against the Hero. Normal Movement rules apply, so these Monsters can’t leave a Space occupied by a Hero.

The questions I have are the odd scenarios:
1) if the position is as follows:
hero A || hero B || monster
hero A attacks the monster.
a) must the monster move onto hero B's spot?
b) since the monster can't reach hero A, does the monster move?
c) can the monster decide to run away into a nearby building?


2) following position:
hero A || ___space1___ || ___space2___ || monster
hero A attacks the monster
a) must the monster move 2 spaces towards the hero (without reaching him?)
b) since the monster can't reach hero A, does it move at all?
c) can the monster decide to run away into a nearby building?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CK Lai
Malaysia
Subang Jaya
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Question 1: B. Monster doesn't move (because can't reach shooter that attacked him. he'd be stuck in the space with hero B).

Question 2: B. Because the monster can't reach Hero A at all, it doesn't move. (Be careful though, some Sin powers may give monsters an extra movement space for a total of 3).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Delta 5.56
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
iliaden wrote:
hi,

I'm trying to understand the monster movement after a ranged attack:

the rulebook simply states:
Then, if any Monsters in the targeted Space survived, they may Move up to 2 Spaces to try and Fight back against the Hero. Normal Movement rules apply, so these Monsters can’t leave a Space occupied by a Hero.

The questions I have are the odd scenarios:
1) if the position is as follows:
hero A || hero B || monster
hero A attacks the monster.
a) must the monster move onto hero B's spot?
b) since the monster can't reach hero A, does the monster move?
c) can the monster decide to run away into a nearby building?


2) following position:
hero A || ___space1___ || ___space2___ || monster
hero A attacks the monster
a) must the monster move 2 spaces towards the hero (without reaching him?)
b) since the monster can't reach hero A, does it move at all?
c) can the monster decide to run away into a nearby building?



1: B
2: B
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Darlington
Canada
Ottawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The monster movement is theoretical unless that movement would reach the shooting hero following normal movement rules.

Only once it's established that the monster's move would successfully reach the shooter do you actually move the monster physically.

As a result, the answer to both of your questions is "the monster does not move."

So it looks like yes, as long as other heroes are blocking the target's path to the shooter, a Ranged hero can shoot safely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Orri Bragason
Iceland
flag msg tools
The main wording here is "may" move and try to fight the hero and "up to". That movement is not compulsory and entirely up to the sin player.

In scenario 1, since hero b blocks the effective movement to hero a the sin players options are moving into player b's space or not move at all, witch ever he thinks more advantageous.

In scenario 2 , since he couldn't reach the hero the options become move 2, 1 or 0 spaces, again whatever the sin player thinks more advantageous

In either scenario the sin player cannot start a fight with the hero
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
msg tools
mbmbmb
As a note in the case of scenario A, the monster does not have to move in a straight line to the shooter. If the Monster can actually move around Hero B via a district building, and still reach Hero A in two (or their otherwise allotted number of) spaces, then the Monster can and will move into the shooter's space.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Harrow
msg tools
mbmbmb
ippon87 wrote:
The main wording here is "may" move and try to fight the hero and "up to". That movement is not compulsory and entirely up to the sin player.

In scenario 1, since hero b blocks the effective movement to hero a the sin players options are moving into player b's space or not move at all, witch ever he thinks more advantageous.

In scenario 2 , since he couldn't reach the hero the options become move 2, 1 or 0 spaces, again whatever the sin player thinks more advantageous

In either scenario the sin player cannot start a fight with the hero

There is more in the rulebook that keeps both of these scenarios from happening, but I do not have access to the exact passages at this time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff ...
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The final rules PDF omit "may", thus if the surviving monster(s) can reach the hero, they must move. The final rules also clarify that no movement occurs if the hero cannot be reached.

Final Rules, pg.36:
Then, if any Monsters in the targeted Space survived, they Move up to 2 Spaces to try and Fight back against the Hero. Normal Movement rules apply, so these Monsters can't leave a Space occupied by a Hero. In case the Monsters are unable to reach the Space occupied by the current hero, they do not move at all.

WIP Rules, pg. 34:
Then, if any Monsters in the targeted Space survived, they may Move up to 2 Spaces to try and Fight back against the Hero. Normal Movement rules apply, so these Monsters can’t leave a Space occupied by a Hero.

Looks like the physical rule book is superseded.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.