Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Infi
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
mb
The BGG price history shows there are many sales of this game with promos and expansions for less than half of the store price and sometimes even as little as 1/3 of the cost. Here is one example but there are plenty more.

Does anyone know the reason for this? I'm quite new to this hobby but most other games I came across hold value much better in the secondary market. Basically, what I saw with AtS makes me hesitant to back other Artipia games such as Fields of Green because if it turns out I don't like the game I may have a very hard time reselling it without losing at least half of the money.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If markets were easily predictable, we wouldn't need to pay money managers exorbitant salaries.

If you are going to buy something based on its future speculative value, board gaming is not the hobby for you.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Lucas
Canada
Belleville
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You're kind of in the wrong hobby if you're worried about recouping your financial losses when you decide to sell your games.

That said you kind of answered your own question. Fields of Green is a mechanical successor to Among the Stars so for people that have limited space for board games or don't want to have a lot of similar games in their collection. A lot of people are probably deciding to sell Among the Stars and get Fields of Green or hold on to Among the Stars and skip Fields of Green. I know I'm not stoked on the new game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Infi
United States
Redmond
Washington
flag msg tools
mb