$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 63.3

4,493 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
28.3% of Goal | 29 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Hands in the Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Who ends a land battle? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glenn Margewich
United States
Clifton
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state that "At the start of each round, the player must check the battle tracks to see whether or not a land battle has been won."

It seems odd that if the Roman player started a land battle showing +1 strength in the Roman's favor, that it would then be won by Rome at the beginning of the Carthaginian player's round before Carthage could respond. In this way all battles would be one sided? No tug of war to the battles. Is this just poor wording? Should it read "At the beginning of the attacking player's round....?"

Thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Berger
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The marker has to be +2 or higher (in his own color) at the start of the attacker's round for the attacker to win.

See "Winning as the Attacker" and "Winning as the Defender" for how each side wins a battle.
9 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Feather
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
glenn69 wrote:
Rules state that "At the start of each round, the player must check the battle tracks to see whether or not a land battle has been won."

It seems odd that if the Roman player started a land battle showing +1 strength in the Roman's favor, that it would then be won by Rome at the beginning of the Carthaginian player's round before Carthage could respond. In this way all battles would be one sided? No tug of war to the battles. Is this just poor wording? Should it read "At the beginning of the attacking player's round....?"

Thanks



To add to what Dan said-- At the start of the Carthage round, Carthage checks to see if Carthage won. It doesn't matter at this point if Rome is in a winning position. If Carthage hasn't won, move on to actions.

If Carthage is in a losing position it has two actions to get the marker back to the neutral or blue positions or Carthage will lose at the start of Rome's round.

So it doesn't matter if it's the attacking or defending player's round. It only matters if the player whose round is beginning is in a winning position on the battle track. This makes all the battles a total tug of war.
4 
 Thumb up
1.50
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.