$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 112.2

6,895 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
43.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Citadels» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why Artist and Queen both number 9? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
balmydrizzle balmydrizzle
Taiwan
flag msg tools
I know that Queen can only be used when there're 5 or more players. But the rule also doesn't say Artist CAN't be used when there're 5 or more players. So what happen if we use both Artist and Queen in the game? This confuses me a long time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marina SC
Canada
Vaughan
flag msg tools
balmydrizzle wrote:
I know that Queen can only be used when there're 5 or more players. But the rule also doesn't say Artist CAN't be used when there're 5 or more players. So what happen if we use both Artist and Queen in the game? This confuses me a long time.

IIRC, you can't use two roles that have the same number in the same game, so this situation would never come up
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
balmydrizzle balmydrizzle
Taiwan
flag msg tools
I see, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ackmondual
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mashpotassium wrote:
balmydrizzle wrote:
I know that Queen can only be used when there're 5 or more players. But the rule also doesn't say Artist CAN't be used when there're 5 or more players. So what happen if we use both Artist and Queen in the game? This confuses me a long time.

IIRC, you can't use two roles that have the same number in the same game, so this situation would never come up
There have been some variants to allow the use of both roles, but I can't recall what they were exactly. Off the top of my head...

1) for more variety, you can choose either of the same number. So if you could choose between Warlord or Diplomat, both #8. How to remove the other card OTOH.. probably require that player to also take the other card, and then discard it somewhere

2) Use all 16 to 18 role cards. Can't recall how to handle two #8's for example. One had priority over the other.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify - the original game only had 8 characters (numbered 1 to 8).

The Dark City expansion added alternative characters - with the recommendation that you only swap one or two of them in to any game. So, if you have this, you have two characters for every number. It also added a ninth character (to allow increasing the player count) which also had an alternative. (It also provided some alternative purple districts.)

Later editions of the game always came with the Dark City expansion included - note that cards from the expansion are marked with a star in one corner.

Off the top of my head, I'm not sure which is the additional 9th character and which is the alternative - because of the player count limitation (and my personal preference) I tend to assume that the Artist is the basic extra and the Queen is the alternative.

So the expansion gives you two choices - firstly whether to add a ninth character (i.e. the Artist?); and secondly, whether to replace some of the characters with their alternative (with the matching number).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.