GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 105.06

6,574 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
41.4% of Goal | left

Support:

Nicklas Lundkvist
Sweden
flag msg tools
I am new to this game and have just quickly browsed the rule book and tried playing a few short sidequests with the RtL app so far, so forgive me if this question is silly:

What do the monsters know about the heroes whereabouts? I was in a position where monsters spawned three tiles/map pieces away, with corners and all kinds of things blocking the sight, yet the app told me to move the monsters towards the closest hero. I went "No way dude, they can't possibly know where I am since they could never see or, even hear, me from there in real life" so I didn't move them at all, being a rebel and standing up to the game cool

I'm guessing that they do know, and that I played it in the wrong way, but I still wanted to ask how it works.

Also, when playing with a person being the overlord, does the monsters behave in the same way as the answer to the former question?

Thanks. /N

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L W
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Possibly the monster is moving towards the nearest hero for another reason? It smells something funny? It heard an unusual sound emanating from the heros location? It takes a walk that way every day about the time the hero entered the space? I do enjoy making up crazy motivations for the monster!

In the overlord game, the overlord player is in it to win it. So that monster doesn't need any motivation at all.

Although I personally play rules as written, you're free to enjoy the game anyway you like.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Campo
United Kingdom
Manchester
lancashire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
remember the dungeons and dragons cartoon Venger had shadow deamon "a spy"

i assume the DM overlord. has them at his disposal..

or Lotr flies/bugs/Crows spies.