$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.47

7,470 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47.1% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Paying Active Card Actions with Steel/Titanium? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Currie
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Look, honey, he thinks there's honey in there!
badge
We can't all be Zheleznogorsk.
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you pay for the Actions on your blue Active Cards with Steel or Titanium if the card has the matching Tag?

My inclination was to say no because the rulebook says that you can use Steel or Titanium to pay the cost of playing a card, but the other players made a persuasive enough case (reading "use the Action" as playing the action) that we went ahead with allowing them to do so.

The prime example is Space Mirrors: the Action on the card allows you to spend 7 M€ to increase your Energy Production by 1. Because it had a Space tag, and thematically you're building additional mirror arrays in space, the player wanted to use Titanium to pay most of the cost of the Action using Titanium. We decided it fit, thematically, but agreed that we should ask for clarification.

We didn't really see this issue on any other cards (a blue card with a Building or Space Tag and has an Action that required M€ payment).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Örjan Almén
Sweden
Karlstad
flag msg tools
mbmb
You're correct, you can only pay with steel or titanium if there's a square symbol for steel and/or titanium at the left side of the red arrow.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Fryxelius
Sweden
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Örjan is right, there are only two cards which allows steel and titanium for action payment instead of M€, Water Import from Europa and Aquifer Pumping. As your instinct said, the actions don't have tags, the cards do. And when doing a card action, you pay for the action, not the card.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Currie
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
Look, honey, he thinks there's honey in there!
badge
We can't all be Zheleznogorsk.
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you all for the clarification! I'll dig through the cards and see how the two cards you reference are formatted for future clarifications.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
flag msg tools
Nothing happens for a reason, but everything happens by a mechanism
badge
God is a cruel croupier, he dealeth and he taketh away
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoops, I cheated like crazy using titanium to pay for Space Mirrors all game last night.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.