$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.35

7,465 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Flick 'em Up!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lawmen Picking Up Items in Scenario 4 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason M
Canada
Nepean
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
FYI Scenario 4 is the one where the Outlaws have to locate 5 gold in three buildings and get them to the neutral cowboys.

We played Scenario 4 this afternoon, and one of the Lawmen players entered a building, picked up a token and it was a gold, so he asked if he was allowed to pick it up, or if he had wasted his action revealing gold to us Outlaws.

We ruled that he had to leave it, because Scenario 4 already seems an insurmountable task for the Outlaws to win as-is: we interpreted the rules for picking up items as: 1 action = 1 random face-down item from the stack, or a face-up item previously revealed and left behind, and we only found the 4th gold with the final action of the 10 o'clock turn, and the Outlaws had no way of actually winning.

If the Lawmen could pick up the gold, then the Outlaws would have to spend time killing the gold-carrier, then going to the Undertaker to retrieve the gold, and then go to the neutral cowboy. It's already difficult enough to go to a building, and waste turns digging through piles of tokens to hopefully find even a single gold, and then get to the neutral cowboys in time.

The rules don't say the Lawmen can't pick up the gold, but the rulebook doesn't say a lot of things, so I'm curious how others have ruled this situation, if they've even encountered it. Maybe no one gets into that predicament, because I've seen a thread indicating that the Lawmen understood the arrangement of tokens in buildings (don't know where that was interpreted from) so maybe they wouldn't even go in looking for tokens, and other threads saying people look at all 5 tokens with 1 action and then take 1 or 2 tokens at once (I'm sure that's not what the rules intend, though it would make Scenario 4 less of a complete crap shoot).

PS: Can cowboys move around the outside of the town? We ruled no initially, but then yes with the stipulation that buildings don't have back doors to enter by, but it never really came up anyway.

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.