$18.00
GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters: 125.35

7,465 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
47% of Goal | left

Support:

Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can You Enlist More Than Four Times Per Game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Don Tsuchiyama
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
One of the players in our game continued to use the enlist even though all four of his tokens had been moved. He was paying the cost and collecting the reward (gold) for performing the action even though the action produced no result.

After discussing it, since moving the token was a condition of the action, his being unable to do that negated the action.

Can anyone clarify?

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flávio O
msg tools
You can use the action just to get the other benefits.
10 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
dadofdavid wrote:
One of the players in our game continued to use the enlist even though all four of his tokens had been moved. He was paying the cost and collecting the reward (gold) for performing the action even though the action produced no result.

After discussing it, since moving the token was a condition of the action, his being unable to do that negated the action.

Can anyone clarify?

Thanks in advance.


As stated in the rules, and throughout the forums, you do not have to take all the benefits of an action. All benefits (except for stars) are optional.

This means you can continue to take an enlist action even after all four tokens have been moved, you would still receive the cash and the uncovered enlist bonus too.

This applies with all other bottom row actions as well. You can continue to take deploy actions after all of your mechs are built, upgrade actions after all of your upgrades are complete and build actions after all your buildings are built. When you do, you still get the cash and the enlist bonuses if they are uncovered.
21 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Feras H
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed.

You can do any action, and claim only what you want.
No actions are "Removed" from game, just less rewarding.

E.g. You can use the "Produce" action (2 hexs), but only put resources on one hex.

E.g. You can "Deploy" even if all mechs are deployed.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mad Halfling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but you could pay the cost to get the addition benefit even if you don't take the main action benefit. A bit of a niche situation, but if your bottom action was deploy, but you didn't want to put a mech out - for example where you had an objective where you needed to have no mechs out, or were going for an achievement - you could pay the cost for the mech and then take just the bonus. You might want to do this if you were flush with metal and wanted the coins.

As I said: quite an obscure, but not an impossible, situation that might arise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mad-Halfling wrote:
Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but you could pay the cost to get the addition benefit even if you don't take the main action benefit. A bit of a niche situation, but if your bottom action was deploy, but you didn't want to put a mech out - for example where you had an objective where you needed to have no mechs out, or were going for an achievement - you could pay the cost for the mech and then take just the bonus. You might want to do this if you were flush with metal and wanted the coins.
Yes, it is just as feasible to decline to take one of the benefits of an action because you don't want to as because you can't.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.