Subject: Mayday Games rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shaun Morris
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading the article on BGG about Zev Shlasinger suing Dan Yarrington, I found a link to the Geeklist Game Salute: A Cautionary Tale which in turn lead me to the Geeklist Mayday Games: A Cautionary Tale. Both of these are pretty old lists with no posts since about 2013. However, I saw a thread about a month ago (sorry no link) where someone asked about Mayday Games and watched as people just piled on to criticize and insult the company for how terrible it is.

I've no experience with Game Salute, having never backed any of their projects on Kickstarter but Mayday is a company that I've now backed 3 separate times for AssassinCon, Twist of Fate, and Nerdy Inventions. I've never had any issues with them. It's kind of disappointing to see how hated they are. In the thread for Mayday Games: A Cautionary Tale, the company and owner just got trounced. It wasn't even a reasoned discussion. BGG basically did their equivalent of burning Seth Hiatt at the stake.

AssassinCon delivered in July of 2016 about 2-3 weeks later than the June 2016 delivery. I only just got around to playing the game about a week and a half to two weeks ago. The standees were a bit subpar in terms of quality. The bottoms of the cardboard standees don't appear to be pressed together very well which made it very difficult to put them into their plastic stands without the bottoms separating. That said, the game was quite inexpensive, only $33 USD including shipping. It's definitely a bit disappointing but nothing that couldn't be resolved with careful assembly and definitely didn't hinder the ability to play at all.

Twist of Fate ($10 USD) is a card based game inspired by Oliver Twist due to deliver in December 2016. Communication has been excellent, just as it was with AssassinCon.